We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Peter G
Sydney, Australia

Nice resort but showing signs of needing a refresh.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Oct 2019
Stayed for 2 nights after returning from Sheraton Tokoriki. Room was large with 2 double beds. Mattress was comfortable but found the pillows to be very soft and the bed frames needed attentions as everytime you moved the bed squeeked. The wooden walkways need to be looked at as there were a number of planks needing replacing.

The air conditioning appears to have been there since the resort was built. It is extremely loud even on low. It is an older style that comes out from the wall. Ear plugs are needed. Resorts should focus on replacing these to a more quieter unit.

The resort itself is similar in layout to the Sheraton next door(which has just had a makeover). The staff are wonderful and check in & checkout way quick and easy.
The breakfast at the Kitchen Grill was superb. Large selection of hot & cold dishes, eggs and even champagne. Staff were quick in clearing tables and seating new arrivals. A top class rating. However, lunch time in the same area was the complete opposite. Extremely slow processing orders. The food when it did arrive was uninspiring. Not an experience we wanted again (went to the Sheraton next door for lunch the following day, completely different experience 10 out of 10).

The housekeeping was first class and the ladies friendly and smiling.

The main pool is large, clean and has ample sunlounges around it.

The adults only pool & bar were sensational. Beautiful surroundings, quite and good sunlounges & cabanas. The bar staff were welcoming & always smiling.

The Westin Bakery was OK, but it would really be nice just to be able to order fresh sandwiches. You can get tired of overfilled pastries & croissants.

I was reading the Fiji Sun newspaper on the trip home & I was encouraged to see the a number of Marriott Group Hotels would be renovated including the Westin. Would we stay at the Westin Denerau again.... probably.
Date of stay: October 2019
Room Tip: go for the ocean view rooms.
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$878
  • Booking.com
    $867
  • Vio.com
    $831
  • Priceline
    $867
0.5 km from The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji
Free parking
Beachfront
$845
No prepayment needed
  • Hilton
    $862
  • Expedia.com
    $852
  • Trip.com
    $851
0.1 km from The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji
Free parking
Pool
$878
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $885
  • Hotels.com
    $885
  • Priceline
    $870
1.5 km from The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
$1,225
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $1,234
  • Sheraton.com
    $1,240
  • Hotels.com
    $1,234
1.2 km from The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
$775
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $781
  • Hotels.com
    $781
  • Priceline
    $775
1.5 km from The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
0.8 km from The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Trip.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
  • Priceline
  • StayForLong
  • Vio.com
1.2 km from The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji
Free parking
Pool
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
0.7 km from The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji
    0.7 km from The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji
    View more hotels in Denarau Island
    Reviews (3,391)
    Filter reviews
    3,391 results
    Traveller rating
    1,483
    1,140
    427
    208
    133
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    1,483
    1,140
    427
    208
    133
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    104 - 109 of 3,391 reviews
    Reviewed 27 October 2019 via mobile

    Stayed for a few days. The hotel and atmosphere are beautiful. Truly a tropical paradise. Don't plan on finding nightlife here on this island, you need to bring your own fun. The staff are all friendly and go out of their way to be helpful.

    Date of stay: July 2019
    Trip type: Travelled on business
    Thank AndyCworld
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 25 October 2019 via mobile

    Fiji one of my favourite destinations with the loveliest friendliest people, however the service at the Westin Kitchen grill restaurant left much to be desired. Even after speaking to the manager we were left dissatisfied. No one could assist us with the wine choice. This is a very expensive upmarket 5 star hotel/restaurant and totally unacceptable. Lastly the cafeteria at the pool had no vegetarian choices for a light lunch at 1pm and after kindly requesting a cheese sandwich were advised we could have a muffin!

    Date of stay: October 2019
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    Thank Connector439186
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Foziana, Loyalty Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2019

    Dear Connector439186,

    Thank you very much for taking your time and leaving a review of your recent stay at the Westin Denarau Resort & Spa.

    Please be assured that our Kitchen Grill mates have been with us for a longer period and offer guests authentic, world-class service that we are globally known for. We do regret your dissatisfaction with no assistance for the wine and non-availability of your choice of meal during lunch. We have taken your feedback on board and this will be discussed with the wider team to ensure continuous improvement plans are in place.

    Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to see you on our shores again.

    Warm Regards,
    Foziana

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 23 October 2019

    Only stayed here one night on my way to Samoa. The room was ok, but really really dirty. I put a pair of white shorts beside my bag, while taking a shower. After they had brown/black marks on them, from the table. I had white socks on also, and they got so dirty after just 5 minutes.

    But the breakfast is probably the best I ever had. A lot of people, but so much good food. Free champange, juice station, egg station, all kinds of bread, cheese, noddle soups.

    Date of stay: October 2019
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    1  Thank JesKob
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Foziana, Loyalty Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2019

    Dear JesKob,

    Firstly, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback on your recent stay at the Westin Denarau Resort & Spa. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the products and services that we provide to our valued guests.

    While I was very pleased to hear that you were happy with our breakfast offering, I regret to learn that we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay with us due to the brown/black marks left on your white socks. Please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience caused. As a hotel we follow the brand standard guideline fully and this to us indicates reinforcing our housekeeping procedures.

    This is not an indication of our hotel and please rest assured that we will look into this and make sure that it is addressed moving forward.

    Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you to our shores in near future.

    Warm regards,
    Foziana N
    Loyalty Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 23 October 2019

    HAD A NIGHT ON EITHER SIDE OF ISLAND GETAWAY - SO ACCOMMODATING! FAB suite. pool area. staff. the BEST breaky buffet too. Bar food delish washed down with a divine cocktail. Great convenience shop. got some lovely pieces from the onsite Market, but are not staff - was lovely to support.
    VINAKA.

    Date of stay: October 2019
      • Value
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank ADELE B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Foziana, Loyalty Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2019

    Dear YOLOBABY,

    We are truly delighted to read your feedback and thank you for taking the time to post your experience on TripAdvisor.

    Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

    Warm Regards,
    Foziana N
    Loyalty Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 20 October 2019

    Everyone at the hotel was very friendly and the room was very comfortable.
    I can imagine the hotel being good for families but the large number of kids running around was a bit off-putting for me.
    There is a restaurant but the food choice is fairly limited and you would be better going outside for a nice meal.
    We had a sea view room but then you have a constant stream of people walking by so have to keep the shutters closed a lot of the time.
    There isn't a beach unfortunately but there is a very nice pool for relaxing except when they have two guys singing all day. I just wanted to relax, not have to listen to all that noise so I never got to use the pool.
    The room was very comfortable.
    Would I stay there again? I would be reluctant to but that is just my preference.

    Date of stay: September 2019
      • Value
      • Rooms
      • Service
    1  Thank Derek D
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Foziana, Loyalty Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2019

    Dear BajanDreamer,

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and it was a pleasure to serve you.

    The resort’s 246 guestrooms are superbly placed in a South Pacific setting. Rooms feature our signature ten-layer Heavenly® Bed, 32” LCD TV, tea and coffee making facility, high-speed internet and Heavenly® Shower. All rooms have a private balcony or patio overlooking the beautiful landscaped gardens or waterfront.

    Westin guests are further pampered with our integrated 5 star resort facilities including six swimming pools, a choice of 14 restaurants and bars, 10 tennis courts and an 18-hole resort golf course.

    There are various activities for our guests to enjoy within the complex that includes being pampered within the three resorts; Sheraton Fiji, Sheraton Denarau Villas and the Westin.

    I sincerely regret meeting short of your expectations and hope we will get an opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

    Warm Regards,
    Foziana

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews