We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Snowy stay at Cocketts”
other travellers have booked this property
Cosy sitting room with large inglenook and wood burner..
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy sitting room with large inglenook and wood burner..
…..beautifully dressed for Christmas Cocketts - pretty in pink
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Cosy sitting room with large inglenook and wood burner..
…..beautifully dressed for Christmas
Cocketts - pretty in pink
Large well-equipped farmhouse kitchen...
…looking out onto front and back garden
King-size master bedroom with small dressing room
Second king-size bedroom that can be made up as a twin
Attic den with PS3, games, toys and double futon leading through to...
…vaulted twin bedroom with original oak floor.
West facing patio in safe enclosed small garden ..
…that shelters another little home, that hides outdoor toys for young ones.
Garden gate leading through to larger garden for ball games...
…an old orchard with fruit trees, picnic table...
...and two magnificent walnut trees
The owners keep pygmy goats, chickens and 2 turkeys.
This is Nancy and she likes attention!
Cocketts is at the end of a no-through lane, and the track beyond is just right for dog walking
The mid suffolk footpath which passes the cottage is perfect for a longer walk
Views across the fields from the cottage...
...and back the other way.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Stowmarket, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Winston G
1 review
“A Snowy stay at Cocketts”
Reviewed 10 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We had a lovely stay at Cocketts to celebrate our Mum’s birthday. Everything we could need for a comfortable stay was provided and even included a few treats, thank you. Our only comment would be that the living room was a bit tight for the 8 of us but with the log burner it was very cosy. Communication with Alison was great, with advice on local restaurants and even local road conditions on our arrival day.

Could have easily spent more time here exploring the area and hanging out with the goats!

Thanks again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Mar 2018
We're so glad you enjoyed yourselves.
Doug and Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne H
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“New year stay”
Reviewed 5 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

An amazing cottage with lovely touches. Was spacious, warm and in a great location. Would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2018
Thank you for the review. I'm glad you enjoyed the Cottage.
Doug and Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaudiaH3...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cocketts”
Reviewed 24 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely weekend in the cottage. It is so cosy and rustic and the wonderful big fireplace made it extra toasty. It is spacious with a well-equipped kitchen and loads of toys to keep the kids entertained. Would definitely recommend this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2017
Thank you for your review. The fire is becoming all the more welcoming as the temperature outside drops...

Doug and Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan M
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Family 60th Birthday”
Reviewed 15 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

6 adults, 2 children and a dog stayed here for a long weekend to celebrate a family members 60th birthday celebration. The kitchen was well equipped and we cooked a massive roast dinner with 2 joints of meat no problem. We didn’t need to bring anything it was all there (apart from the food and drink obviously). Lots of downstairs living space meant very comfortable time and lots of space to talk and kids to play. It’s a lovely cottage. It’s not all state of the art interior but to be honest I prefer that. I stayed in one in the Cotswolds with a Bluetooth operated kitchen it was so bloody technical I couldn’t get anything to work! Compared to a lot of cottages this size it was more reasonable than most. We live northwest London so Friday afternoon took us 3 and a half hours to get there but we got home on Sunday in 2 hours so not bad. Just if you are going up friday allow more time.

It’s a good location for a weekend getaway. Bathrooms were really nice and heating was excellent and there is also a wood burner.

Nice warm, clean, tastefully decorated cottage with lots of space. Would recommend. Owners were great at communicating. 5/5

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I’m glad you enjoyed your time at Cocketts.
Doug and Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
19London8...
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic Family Holiday Cottage”
Reviewed 4 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We stayed here for the October half term and all had a fantastic time. The cottage is so well equipped for children of all ages. We visited with a 14,7,5 and 2 year old and there was something for all of them.

The house is well equipped with everything you would need, the bedrooms are beautiful and very comfortable.

One of the special things about this cottage is the animals. There are a family of Pygmy goats adjacent to the property that you you can sit and play with. They are extremely friendly and one of the babies loves nothing more than jumping onto your lap for a cuddle. It's a really lovely experience for both adults and children.

The house was spotlessly clean when we arrived and we had a bottle of wine and some biscuits as a welcome gift which was a lovely touch.

You will need a car if staying at Cocketts but there is plenty of parking and directions provided by Alison and Doug are very good.

I would highly recommend Cocketts to families with all age groups and we will definitely be returning in the future

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2017
Thank you so much for this lovely review. I’m glad you enjoyed yourselves: cuddles with goats is probably a feature few other cottage stays can offer!
Doug and Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing