We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Idyllic Country Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Stowmarket, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

DavidRust
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Idyllic Country Cottage”
Reviewed 7 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This was the perfect spot for a few days away in June. Nestling at the end of a quiet country lane you could be miles from anywhere and yet you are only a short distrance from main roads giving easy access to Norwich, Bury St Edmunds and Stowmarket. The coast is not far and there is plenty to do in the surrounding area.

This ancient timber framed building is the idyllic country cottage but with all the modern conveniences you need inside and lovely comfortable beds.

We were blessed with the weather and ate every meal outside but would have been equally happy at the kitchen table if it had been cold and wet.

What a find!!!!

Thank you Doug and Alison

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2017
Thank you for staying at Cocketss and for making the time to write this review. We are glad you enjoyed your time here. And I like the word 'nestling'; 'nestling at the end of a quiet country lane...' accurate and evocative, I may re-use that. And it's still sunny here now; East Anglia is one of the driest parts of the U.K. so eating outside is a frequent possibility at this time of year...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zosoexile
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful, peaceful cottage with lots of charm!”
Reviewed 23 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The isolated location of this place is incredible, as is the garden and kitchen! We rented to cottage for work for which it was great but it's clearly set up for a family getaway. The owners were very helpful and friendly through the whole process and even posted some glasses we left behind. Suffolk itself it lovely, would highly recommend a visit!

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2017
Thank you for taking the time to respond. I'm glad you enjoyed your time here. Perhaps you'll think of Suffolk next time you're looking for a UK getaway?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billb8591
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A great few days in beautiful Suffolk”
Reviewed 25 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

A three year old entranced by the goats and chickens and nearby rare bread centre, a one year old contented with company and crawling and parents and grandparents happy to all be together in such a delightful spot, with comfortable surroundings and safe and beautiful grounds. Thank you.

Date of stay: April 2017
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2017
Thank you for this review. There’s a bit of a 3 year old in me too; I find the goats entrancing at times too. The ‘kids’ are growing well...

Doug
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ray p
1 review
“Perfect for our party of 6 adults and two lively 21month olds.”
Reviewed 12 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Great location- garden full of spring flowers. Stayed for three nights while attending family wedding and wished we could have stayed longer. Immaculately clean,and very comfortable . Fantastic selection of toys for children of all ages. Our two grandsons loved the playhouse, the goats and especially the hides hole next to the fire place. We would love to come back as a family for a longer stay.

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2017
Thank you for this review (and my apologies for not having responded sooner). I’m glad you enjoyed yourself; we’d be delighted to see you come back.
Doug and Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedrovian
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Idyllic”
Reviewed 27 June 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Beautifully restored roomy period cottage with everything you could want for a peaceful and romantic break in lovely open Suffolk countryside. Unfortunately we took the grandkids!! But they enjoyed it too, staying in the attic kids' room and playing in the wooden playhouse in the garden. There's a collection of animals in the garden too. We made easy daytrips to Lowestoft and Framlingham Castle. The house can be hard to find being at the end of a long narrow road off the beaten track.

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2017
Thanks for the review. ‘Off the beaten track’ and ‘hard to find’ sometimes go together..but we find SatNav, if you use it, to work very well if you use the postcode; that takes some of the pain out of finding us.

So glad you enjoyed your time here.

Doug and Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.