We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,853)
Filter reviews
1,853 results
Traveller rating
1,029
568
167
55
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,029
568
167
55
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool bar animation team fish sea view great holiday paella non smokers on tap sea soul ice cream all inclusive option wooden walkway every meal water polo plenty of sunbeds kids club nature reserve
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 1,853 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2017

We have just returned from this Spanish hotel which is aimed at the family market. This was a late booking and we had researched the hotel and read reviews before booking, so we got what we expected. The transfer from the airport was approx. 1.30 hours, but we knew this prior to booking.
Check in was quick and we were greeted with a glass of Cava. As we arrived early the rooms were not available, which I had expected, so I had packed so that beachwear could be removed from the case. We were offered changing rooms attached to the spa to change and our cases were locked away, our all inclusive started and our rooms were available a couple of hours later. Our cases were taken to our room by a porter and the receptionist came along and welcomed to our room.
The room was adequate, toiletries and clean towels supplied and changed when required, along with bottled water in the fridge. There was also a safe available at a charge. The balcony was adequate with table and chairs and an airer for washing.
The restaurant was pleasant and there were staff to greet you at every meal time which in the evenings was themed. The food was of the usual all inclusive standard, although there were stations cooking fresh fish and meat every evening, as was fried egg, omelette and pancakes cooked for breakfast. You won't go hungry, there was always something to eat pasta, pizza, paella salads, soups and local dishes. We had read that men were required to wear trousers for evening meal times, although no one did, so pack your smart shorts! The wine and beer were on tap and were ok, although at the bar you could obtain Cava, cocktails and local spirits.
The pool was never overcrowded, although there was the normal saving of sunbeds happening, with people that must have a certain position every day, even so we were able to easily find a bed everyday without a problem. We did not get involved in the day or night time activities so cannot comment too much, but the water aerobics was very popular and entertaining for participants and spectators, as was the lunchtime 'crazy games'.
What can I say about the beach, except that it stretches for miles in both directions and when the tide is out you can walk out for a great distance to paddle in the warm sea. The beach is reached by a gate entrance at the back of the hotel grounds which leads to a paved promenade, good jogging and bike riding as well as a stroll, although apart from a few stalls there is nothing else to see. From the promenade each hotel has a wooden walk way leading down to the beach. There are a couple of beach bars but if you are all inclusive they are not included in the cost of your holiday. There are a few sun loungers on the beach but yet again payable locally. The beach is great and does get busy with Spanish visitors at the weekend, but don't let this worry you as there is plenty of beach!
The best quality of this hotel, apart from its cleanliness, is the staff! All of them from the chamber maids to the bar, restaurant, cleaners and any one else on site are polite, helpful, friendly and accommodating! They are willing to let you try a little Spanish when ordering and there was never a problem with the service, regardless of how busy they were!
The Jet 2 representative, Margaretta was very friendly and very often eating on the restaurant or in the pool area, when she wasn't helping people with their enquires in the hotel lobby.
This was a very pleasant hotel which I would return to in the furture!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank larchie31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteles2017, Quality manager at Iberostar Isla Canela, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Your review of IBEROSTAR Isla Canela is very much appreciated. We are always very happy to receive clarification that our guests have enjoyed a wonderful holiday and have left with happy memories.

Our combination of both competent and friendly service is one of our main priorities and we are constantly working to provide our guests with a genuine all-round experience.

Again, we thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Isla Canela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

Overall I had a really nice expirience. I travelled with my 2 and a half year old son and it was great. I guess the only negative points are:
- only 2 elevators for hundreds of people
- the big swimming pool does not have inclined entrance (meaning that you have to jump in the water, or seat down on the board and enter or you just go down the metal stairs)
- the kids pool has an higher high of 0,50 cm or so
- the bar at the beach is not included in the all incluisive
- from 10 pm until 07:30 am the all inclusive gusts don't have anything to eat

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
Thank saraelisio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteles2017, Quality manager at Iberostar Isla Canela, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Isla Canela for your holiday. Your friendly comment is an incentive for us to continue to the best of our ability so that all our guests feel as comfortable as you were in our hospitality. The fact that you could have a wonderful time in our hotel is an excellent confirmation of our efforts.

We would like to thank you for your helpful feedback and will gladly forward it accordingly on your behalf. We attach great importance to every detail available to us in order to ensure that our guests always have a very pleasant stay in our hotels.

Thank you once again for sharing your review and we hope you continue to include IBEROSTAR in your future holiday arrangements.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Isla Canela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

We have just returned from a fantastic week at the Isla Canela. The hotel was fantastic on a number of fronts - cleanliness was exceptional and the staff were very friendly and professional in any of our dealings with them. Their motto is "if you are happy we are happy"'and we certainly saw this throughout the week. Nothing was too much trouble for any member of staff be it front of house, bar staff, restaurant or entertainment- they were all extremely friendly, polite and professional. This is an ideal hotel if you just want to relax and use the facilities of the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
Thank garyturner999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteles2017, Quality manager at Iberostar Isla Canela, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Gary,

We would like first and foremost to thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Isla Canela for your recent holiday and also for taking the time to share your opinion with us.


Every day is a new challenge for IBEROSTAR based on our passion for providing our guests an environment similar to a home from home. Our highly motivated and competent team ensures that our services as well as our hotels wealth of facilities provide a holiday feeling of the very special kind for our guests.

Again we thank you for sharing this constructive feedback and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Isla Canela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

This is a Spanish hotel in a quiet Spanish resort with a huge sandy beach, which exactly what we were looking for. The staff were friendly and helpful (especially Toni in the restaurant ant the Portuguese intern on reception). Some staff don't have a huge amount of English but it's not a problem. The animation team work really hard and provide some entertainment. There are some beach bars and you can walk to restaurants in the marina and ponta moral. As it's a spanish resort they operate Spanish hours and we saw it was usual to eat as late as 10pm. The jet 2 rep was excellent giving us ideas and options for our day trip to Seville and bike rides to the ferry to Portugal.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
1  Thank E9215NHteresaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteles2017, Quality Manager at Iberostar Isla Canela, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear Guest,
We would like first of all to thank you for your kind review of your recent holiday with us at IBEROSTAR Isla Canela.

Such a friendly review our hotel is of course a great pleasure to read and confirms for us that our daily actions are worthwhile and that we are on the right path with our numerous efforts.

Again we thank you for your pleasant review of our hotel and hope that IBEROSTAR will continue to provide you excellent holiday experiences in the future.
Best Regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Isla Canela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

We travelled on 11th August for a week. After reading reviews we decided to book on a late booking, we were not disappointed. The best part was that sun beds were available at all times of the day so no early morning rush. The only let down was a couple nights of the evening entertainment which we were not impressed with but you cannot please everyone. We will return!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
1  Thank G1090BRkellyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteles2017, Quality Manager at Iberostar Isla Canela, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful impressions of your stay at IBEROSTAR Isla Canela.

It is of great importance to us that our guests appreciate our well thought out holiday concept. Our day to day efforts are to help guarantee our guests can experience the highest levels of comfort with an equally pleasant atmosphere. This is ensured by our employees, our numerous services provided and the careful distribution of our hotel and its wealth of facilities.

Again we thank you for sharing this fabulous review of our hotel and we hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Isla Canela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews