We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,840)
Filter reviews
5,840 results
Traveller rating
4,917
737
131
37
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,917
737
131
37
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burger van la playa food truck ice cream parlour entertainment team beach restaurant beach room special thanks sea urchins a la carte restaurant superior room our honeymoon at lunchtime games room all inclusive package boat house water sports
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 5,840 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited the resort in the 1st visit of September and I think it was our best decision to select the resort and it would not be an overstatement to say that "hands down - it is one of the best the resort we have visited till date". It is highly recommended.

Special thanks to Chef Mahesh Prabhu for taking effort for providing us with an Indian vegetarian menu, my wife who is a strict vegan was very pleased with the type of food and service we received at the resort.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank manishupreti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan A, General Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Manishupreti,

Thank you so much for these glowing lines posted about your recent experience of Tamassa!

We are glad that this stay left its imprints forever on your mind and that you found great value in your stay- know that equally, it was our pleasure to be of service to you.

The chefs along with the restaurant's team are so grateful to your comments (especially Chef Mahesh). Coming from such a well travelled guest as yourself, we believe every single word of your review.

Thank you once again,

Best regards and hopefully see you soon again,

Stephan Anseline
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were recommended Tamassa for its Kids Club and we weren’t disappointed. The staff were incredibly welcoming to our 3.5 year old who took a few days to settle in, but once he had it was hard to peel him away from Vishwanee & Francine in particular and the energy they put into looking after the kids under their care. Morning yoga, painting and collecting shells are a few of the activities on offer that kept our son entertained.

We really enjoyed the food during our stay. The service offered by Mahesh as Head Chef was impressive. He made an effort to interact with us and we observed he did the same with others. Quality of the food in general was top notch. We were impressed to experience a personal experience in a large buffet restaurant with hundreds of covers, and this comes down to excellent staff working hard.

We made full use of the spa facilities - you can build your own package which is worthwhile.

Accommodation was OK - best bit was having a 1st floor Beach room with its view. Otherwise relatively basic but very clean & comfortable. Also more than enough room for a separate roll-out bed for our son.

Overall, a four star resort with 5* service that we’d be delighted to visit again.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank MB_choc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan A, General Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear MB_CHOC,

5 straight bubbles- thank you ever so much!

We are delighted to read your review and thank you for taking the time to write such an excellent feedback regarding your recent stay at Tamassa!

We are so pleased to know you had a wonderful experience and thank you for your heartfelt recommendation and the fact that you mentioned that we are a 4 star with 5 stars service rejoices us all.

I will certainly share your kind words with the entire team and we really look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Warmest regards,

Stephan Anseline
General Manager
stephan.anseline@tamassaresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was a pleasure staying there. Lovely resort. You could spend the entire week relaxing there. Breakfast spread was great. Service was gud. Reception people were very warm and helping. Had a lovely stay

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abhav9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan A, General Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Abhav9,

Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. Each time we receive compliments from our guests, it compels us to do even better.

The Tamassa experience is all about people working together to create beautiful and entertaining memories for our guests and I am delighted to note that we were able to serve you well.

The team is humbled by your praise and recognition and will continue to work towards delighting all our guests. All of us look forward to welcome you back soon and assure you of another great holiday!

Receive our best regards,

Stephan Anseline
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

My fiance and I are just back from a two week stay in the Tamassa Resort. We both agree it is the best hotel we have stayed in to date. Arrival and check in were smooth despite being an early morning arrival. Check-in is stated as 2pm but the staff do their best to get people checked in early and we had access to our room at 9am.

Rooms
The room we stayed in was a double room, the bed was comfortable and we both slept well throughout the holiday. An inclusive mini fridge is in the room that contains 2 beers and a few soft drinks that are restored daily. Our bathroom had a shower, bath and twin sinks - small bottles of shower gel and shampoo were supplied, but not enough to not bring your own. The room was very clean and the house keeping visit twice a day! We took up the laundry offer of unlimited washing for 3000MUR (around £70) we found the service excellent with clothes generally returned within 24 hours. The room has UK plug sockets, a decent hair dryer and a TV that has 3 or 4 English channels.

The only complaint we had about the rooms came from our checkout evening, we had to be up early so went to bed around 10pm, the evening entertainment ends around midnight. There are windows in the bathroom that I assume are in place of fans and cannot be fully closed, the sound coming through made it difficult to sleep. For the rest of the holiday this wasn't an issue for us but something to consider if staying with children.

Food & Drink
The food at the Tamassa is outstanding. Having stayed in other all inclusive hotels we weren't expecting much, and I was expecting to be bored of the same food day in day out as often is the case in other hotels. How wrong we were, the playa restaurant sets this hotel apart. You have to prebook to eat there in the evenings which we didn't have much trouble with and ate there most nights. The playa offer a small selection in their menu that changes each evening, you have table service and the food is to a very high standard. The playa is also open for lunch, we generally went there or to the burger van depending on the weather. My OH loved the burger van and was really impressed with them. The buffet restaurant offers the usual hot and cold breakfasts, we never visited for lunch, and the dinner buffet ranged with different 'nights' some were better than others but there was always something for everyone.

The staff are exceptional and go above and beyond to make sure your stay is relaxing, from delivering and collecting your luggage to your room and bringing you drinks. The drinks on offer at the hotel are great with good variety in the all inclusive, from cocktails to beer and even exported Guinness.

Our only frustration with the hotel was the drinks service. It is a lovely touch to have the staff wait on you by the pool, by the beach and even at the bar. But more often than not we went without a drink due to the staff being run off their feet or simply forgetting an order we placed. This would be fine, if guests weren't then questioned when going to the bar themselves. We did this on a few occasions, especially during the day when it was hot and we needed water, guests shouldn't feel like they can't order a drink directly. Waiting 40 minutes or more for a bottle of water when you can collect one yourself isn't ideal.

Beach & Pool
The beach and pool areas are stunning, there is not a leaf out of place and the entire grounds are kept immaculate. The sea beside the hotel is shallow with most adults being able to walk reasonably far out. There are lots of coral areas around the beach with some great snorkelling spots that we both really enjoyed. We managed without sea shoes but if I were to return I would take some with me. You can't hire snorkels but the shop in the hotel sells them, they are around £35 each - so bring your own!

The pools aren't heated but are still refreshing to swim in, we spent most of our time at the beach. In both locations we never struggled with sun beds and were able to find a nice spot at any time of day. The hotel provides beach towels that you can change as regularly as you wish.

Extras
The hotel provides some extras included in the package. Of these we went on a snorkelling trip (snorkels are provided) and a trip on the glass bottom boat. On the boat trip we saw sea turtles! Only a few hundred meters from the hotel! The hotel also offers free pedal boats and canoes, we didn't get chance to use these as the tide was too strong during our stay.

There are other extras provided at a cost such as: breakfast on the beach, lobster dinner, spa treatments and other water sports. Of these we only decided to have breakfast on the beach which was 500MUR each (about £12 each) this was excellent and we were very full and well looked after!

Check out
Our entire stay at the hotel was extremely relaxing, until check out. We left at 4am and were provided a cold breakfast by the hotel from 3am, this was really lovely with fresh pastries and cereals. The chaos came from the group transfer to the hotel. As I mentioned earlier, the staff bring your luggage out of the rooms for you which is extremely helpful as there are no lifts! There were two buses of people and all their suitcases at the front of the hotel, some peoples luggage hadn't made it down from their room and our bus almost left without our luggage onboard - despite the driver asking which suitcases were ours.

Despite the little chaos on leaving this hotel exceeded all our expectations and provided the best service we have ever had with the finest food and drink menu to date. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan A, General Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Lauren W,

Thank you so much for these glowing lines posted about your recent experience of Tamassa!

We are glad that this stay left its imprints forever on your mind and that you found great value in your stay- know that equally, it was our pleasure to be of service to you.

"We both agree it is the best hotel we have stayed in to date"- rest assure that the entire team will be praised on your behalf.

I would like to sincerely apologise in regards to the slow pace of the drink service you experienced. Same has been dealt with promptly so that there is no further hinderance in our delivery.

Coming from such a well travelled guest as yourself, we believe every single word of your review and we will work harder during your next visit to earn this 5th star we sadly missed this time.

Thank you once again,

Best regards and hopefully see you soon again,

Stephan Anseline
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

It has been a real pleasure being there.The welcome was very good and they made us feel comfortable at once.I personally enjoyed the atmosphere, activities,food.The Spa also was very good.I will definitely recommend your hotel to all my friends and other members of my family.

Room Tip: the access to the hotel is very easy and it offers a good view of the seaside
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank sgoolamhossen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan A, General Manager at Tamassa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear sgoolamhossen,

Greetings from the South Coast!

Thank you for your visit at Tamassa, as much as you, we enjoyed having you at the resort.

Your words and recommendations are precious to us as the entire team strive on a daily basis to place Tamassa amongst the most favourite hotels on the island.

We are convinced that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again, should you require any help in re-booking us, i shall be glad to assist,

Best wishes,

Stephan Anseline
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews