We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful House close to Yosemite!”
The House That Ruza Built
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The House That Ruza Built
front door entry living room area of Great Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
78 reviews
The House That Ruza Built
front door entry
living room area of Great Room
kitchen area of Great Room
dining area of Great Room
kimono cabinet
king bed in master BR
steam shower in master BR
queen bed in 2nd BR
bunkbed in 2nd BR
two bunkbeds in 3rd BR
top deck with gas BBQ and table
2nd deck with hot tub
view from top deck
view of house from ground level
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Yosemite National Park, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 78 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sharleeh4...
Kentucky
1 review
“Beautiful House close to Yosemite!”
Reviewed 11 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Our stay at "The House That Ruza Built" was awesome! The house was clean and perfect for our needs! I really enjoyed learning about the history and naming of the house and Ruza's paintings throughout the house was a very nice touch. Scott, the owner was very helpful and informative. Having such a nice house to stay in made our vacation great!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ragemcsmo...
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My extended family of 6 adults recently traveled to Yosemite National Park and stayed in The House that Ruza Built. The house was beautifully furnished and decorated with paintings of the owner's Grandmother. The bedrooms were comfortable, the open floor layout on the main floor was spacious. No one felt cramped. The house is 2 miles from the Southern entrance to the park and sits within the Sierra National Forrest. It's about an hour ride to Yosemite Valley (if you don't stop to take photos.) The surroundings are wooded and you felt alone in the woods with the exception of the wildlife. We enjoyed coffee on the deck every morning while seeing what new species of bird would come by. I would recommend staying here if you are traveling into Yosemite or just need a retreat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house floor plan and location.
Liked least: The third bedroom slept four, but did not have a bed for two people to share.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
readerboe...
Strongsville, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Can't Wait to Come Back!”
Reviewed 10 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We absolutely loved The House that Ruza Built. It was in a perfect location to get to the south entrance of Yosemite. The house still smells new. It was extremely clean with everything you need for cooking in the kitchen. The home has a hot tub however we did not use it nor the fireplace.Water pressure was terrific and the water from sinks tasted good. We want to come back to Yosemite and this will be the place we stay! PS I loved the book about the "Matron" on the family and all of her paintings.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The open layout and personal feeling.
Liked least: Air Conditioner did not work very well on the main level.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2016
thank you Kim for your review comments and Yosemite is beautiful all four seasons of the year so we look forward to three more visits (-;
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin...
1 review
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 29 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My only regret is that we arrived late due to travel issues, and that we could not spend more time at the house. When we arrived, we found a beautiful house close to the south gate, convenient to Yosemite and to the town of Oakhurst.

As we traveled to Yosemite for a wedding, we appreciated having the comfort and convenience of a house where we could relax and prepare for the wedding.

If you are staying longer, John, the caretaker for the property, can offer great advice on how best to experience Yosemite.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing