We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,814)
Filter reviews
5,814 results
Traveller rating
2,903
1,646
670
307
288
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,903
1,646
670
307
288
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach bar the banyan tree rocking chairs tower wing beautiful hotel oldest hotel waikiki beach heavenly bed older part original building ocean view old hawaii diamond head new tower an umbrella heart of waikiki resort fee
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 5,814 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

High Tea served by Eugene (the Best) Tea Sommelier at Mona Surfrider Historic Hotel on Waikki Beach. Selection of special teas, served with all you would expect. Served on the veranda in comfortable casual eligence.

Stayed: May 2018
2  Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Original hotel was beautiful and historic. Beach access and nice central location on Waikiki beach. The cons: The staff was downright rude even to wedding guests (they went on strike during our stay and picketed so loud outside you could hear from the pool area) but had terrible customer service prior to. Outside of the resort fee other people have mentioned, they basically make you valet as the parking garage is two blocks away. Do yourself a favor and find a different hotel!

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Aggieteena1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarwoodWaikiki4, Manager at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha Aggieteena1005,

Thank you for staying with us at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. Please accept my apologies on behalf of our company for the inconveniences and disappointments you shared regarding your stay. It is our goal to provide outstanding service and I am truly sorry to hear that we did not accomplish this with you. Please know that your feedback has been received, and will be address appropriately. We take our guest feedback seriously, and we will be ensuring that our service levels increase so that our team can provide the care and aloha that is expected when traveling to Hawaii. We truly hope that we will be given another opportunity to host you in the future, we would surely welcome the opportunity to regain your trust.

Me Ke Aloha Pumehana (with warm aloha),
Karen W.
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We enjoyed our stay here, and the location and beach are gorgeous. Our room was lovely. There is only a small pool, and limited loungers, and it is expensive to hire loungers with a sunshade on the beach.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights to start our 2 week vacation in Hawaii. This hotel is nicer than the other hotels we have stayed at previously in Waikiki but still leaves a lot to be desired. The pool area is small with limited chairs. If you aren’t out early it’s hard to get a spot. Also the service at the pool left a lot to be desired, no waiters ever came over. Had to get up and order food, then bring back ourselves. This was all before the strike happened.

The day we were leaving the hotel staff went on strike. At 6 am you got woke up from hearing the chanting and screaming. We had valeted our car for our stay and when we went to pick it up, they told us we had to get it ourselves. I’m 5 months pregnant and we had to drag our bags to the car.

We were fortunate we were leaving the first day of the strike but they significantly limited services. Going forward housekeeping and other basic services were not being offered.

I support the staff for doing what they need to do but the hotel management did nothing to makeup for the fact that the services being paid for and expected were not being delivered. I also felt badly for those staff who were working filling in for jobs they normally don’t do, the IT guy getting bags, the spa lady handing out pool towels and taking the brunt of the angry guests.

The hotel management and owners made no offers to guests on reducing rates or any sort of concession to guests to make up for lack of services. Shame on the senior management and owners of the hotel for not handling the guest situation better. People are on holidays and this is not what they are expecting when they book vacation at what is supposed to be one of the best hotels in Waikiki.

I also emailed the general manager about how we were not satisfied on the last day of our stay as we were not getting services paid for. It’s been 4 days now and I have yet to hear back.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
9  Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarwoodWaikiki4, Manager at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha Jessica D,

Thank you for staying with us at the Moana Surfrider, the First Lady of Waikiki. We are truly sorry for the inconvenience that the labor disruption may have caused in allowing us to provide you with the outstanding services that you deserve as our guest. We do hope to have another opportunity in the future to provide you with the best impression of our property, should your travel plans return you to Waikiki.

Me Ke Aloha Pumehana (with warm aloha),
Karen W.
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had dinner here one night. Place was packed and we didn't have reservations but they manage to accommodate us. Restaurant is nice with a beach front. Live music and nice ambiance. You can also here the waves from the beach Wich gives a certain asset to the dinner. Prices were kinda high but in the same time you are in Honolulu in nice restaurant. Service was polite friendly and prompt. All in all it was. Really nice birthday dinner for my wife.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank florinML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews