We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,814)
Filter reviews
5,814 results
Traveller rating
2,903
1,646
670
307
288
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,903
1,646
670
307
288
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach bar the banyan tree rocking chairs tower wing beautiful hotel oldest hotel waikiki beach heavenly bed older part original building ocean view old hawaii diamond head new tower an umbrella heart of waikiki resort fee
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 5,814 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights to start our 2 week vacation in Hawaii. This hotel is nicer than the other hotels we have stayed at previously in Waikiki but still leaves a lot to be desired. The pool area is small with limited chairs. If you aren’t out early it’s hard to get a spot. Also the service at the pool left a lot to be desired, no waiters ever came over. Had to get up and order food, then bring back ourselves. This was all before the strike happened.

The day we were leaving the hotel staff went on strike. At 6 am you got woke up from hearing the chanting and screaming. We had valeted our car for our stay and when we went to pick it up, they told us we had to get it ourselves. I’m 5 months pregnant and we had to drag our bags to the car.

We were fortunate we were leaving the first day of the strike but they significantly limited services. Going forward housekeeping and other basic services were not being offered.

I support the staff for doing what they need to do but the hotel management did nothing to makeup for the fact that the services being paid for and expected were not being delivered. I also felt badly for those staff who were working filling in for jobs they normally don’t do, the IT guy getting bags, the spa lady handing out pool towels and taking the brunt of the angry guests.

The hotel management and owners made no offers to guests on reducing rates or any sort of concession to guests to make up for lack of services. Shame on the senior management and owners of the hotel for not handling the guest situation better. People are on holidays and this is not what they are expecting when they book vacation at what is supposed to be one of the best hotels in Waikiki.

I also emailed the general manager about how we were not satisfied on the last day of our stay as we were not getting services paid for. It’s been 4 days now and I have yet to hear back.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
9  Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarwoodWaikiki4, Manager at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha Jessica D,

Thank you for staying with us at the Moana Surfrider, the First Lady of Waikiki. We are truly sorry for the inconvenience that the labor disruption may have caused in allowing us to provide you with the outstanding services that you deserve as our guest. We do hope to have another opportunity in the future to provide you with the best impression of our property, should your travel plans return you to Waikiki.

Me Ke Aloha Pumehana (with warm aloha),
Karen W.
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had dinner here one night. Place was packed and we didn't have reservations but they manage to accommodate us. Restaurant is nice with a beach front. Live music and nice ambiance. You can also here the waves from the beach Wich gives a certain asset to the dinner. Prices were kinda high but in the same time you are in Honolulu in nice restaurant. Service was polite friendly and prompt. All in all it was. Really nice birthday dinner for my wife.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank florinML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have been visiting this hotel for 20+ years, enjoying the beauty and hospitality. Despite the ongoing strike and the limited services, we are very happy with our decision to stick with our reservation for this week. Over the years, we have come to know many of the service staff members, and they always have been professional and welcoming. We hope they can return soon. Meanwhile, the Moana management has done an excellent job of continuing the aloha spirit under challenging circumstances.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Donna_J2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This was supposed to be a vacation of my lifetime, instead what a disaster. All service staff are on strike. No room service, no onsite restaurants, no housekeeping, no nothing. Each day the place filled with trash that needed collected. We had to pick up clean towels and bathroom supplies. Each day the outside area was a mess. Each day we heard the chants if protesters who want a fair wage. They said they have had no contact since June. For the price we paid, why can't they be paid so your guests are taken care of. While the beds are in fact heavenly, nothing else about our stay was. We paid too much for no service. Never will recommend this resort

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
20  Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarwoodWaikiki4, Manager at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha Deborah G,

Mahalo for choosing to stay with us at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. We are truly sorry for the inconvenience the labor disruption may have caused in allowing us to provide you with the outstanding service that you deserve as our guest. We do hope to have the opportunity to regain your trust and have the opportunity to welcome you back should your travel plans bring you back to Waikiki.

Me Ke Aloha Pumehana (with warm aloha),
Karen W.
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

A wonderful property in the midst of Waikiki. Close to everything including being on the beach. Staff are wonderful and so helpful and everything you need is at your doorstep. A beautiful property steeped in history. We will be back without a doubt!

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank xxfivestarxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews