We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$390
US$337
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hilton Waikiki Beach(Honolulu)
US$280
US$255
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$263
US$231
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$377
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$322
US$312
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
The Modern Honolulu(Honolulu)
US$398
US$267
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$280
US$272
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$224
US$207
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$381
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (6,338)
Filter reviews
6,338 results
Traveller rating
3,612
2,015
483
142
86
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,612
2,015
483
142
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe shore birdshorebird restaurantocean house restaurantpacific towerthe kani ka pila grilleocean frontpartial ocean viewwaikiki beachthe activities deskdiamond headour honeymoontime sharecity viewpool sidehawaiian musicoceanfront roommai tais
Filter
Updating list...
1,943 - 1,948 of 6,338 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2015

Located right on waikiki Beach, this hotel is magnificent. Located right in the center of the city, it is locate close to every important attraction. The staff was wonderful. I booked a standard room, but when I told to hotel manager that I'm an attorney from New York, looking to buy a retirement home, he instantly upgraded me to a 2-bedroom suite overlooking the blue pacific. The rooms were immaculate and the hotel had a great deal to offer.

Room Tip: Don't spend the extra money for an ocean view:: you're out of the room all day and you sleep at night. Just book a city view
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2015

Aloha Nick L.,
Thank you for your 5 star review of the Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort. We are thrilled that you thought our resort was magnificent and one of the best! Even if you were able to find a retirement home to purchase, we hope you will return again to stay with us. We would love to be your host again. Mahalo and Aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2015

The hotel we stayed at couldn't accommodate a late check out, so we booked one night at this hotel. Although we didn't spend the night, we did use the facilities and room. We also had poolside food and drinks, both of which were good. Only downside...the wifi didn't work all that well when you were out of the room.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dna7575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2015

Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort for your extended stay and for the nice comment about the property. The WI-FI system will be receiving the needed improvements very soon. Mahalo (Thank you) for taking the time share your experience with us. We look forward to welcome you back to the Outrigger Reef. Aloha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2015

We just returned from a wonderful week at the Outrigger Reef. Starting from the time of check-in we had an amazing experience. Staff were warm and accommodating of all our requests. We started off in a 1 bedroom city view suite which was a great size for 3 friends sharing the space (2 double beds and a pullout couch). Halfway through someone else joined us and we split up into 2 regular city view rooms. The staff helped organize for adjoining rooms and let us check in early so we could just transfer our stuff from one room to the other. On the last day we had a red-eye, so they were super accommodating with late check out and they also have hospitality suites so you can shower at the end of the day before your flight. The rooms were updated and clean and the beds were super comfy. You couldn't ask for a better location right on the beach and close to everything. Our favourite part was probably the afternoon happy hour at the pool - friendly staff and delicious Mai Tais! We had such a great time we are hoping to make it an annual trip and will definitely stay at the Outrigger Reef again!

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
4  Thank EmilyR44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2015

Aloha Emily & Mahalo for your review. I am so delighted to read that you found the staff at the Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort to be friendly & warm. I am glad to know that you found your hotel room to be clean, comfortable & spacious. We do hope you visit our hotel again when selecting a destination of choice in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2015 via mobile

We visit this hotel every year. Great location on the beach and Lewer Street. The hotel offer Vow renewal on the beach, ask when you check in. Great happy hour deals by the pool 3-5pm. You have to rent beach chairs but this is every where in Hawaii, buy a beach mat at the ABC store across the street. Hotel offer free wifi in room and on the beach, and free phone calls to mainland and Canada. We book airport shuttle from Hawaii23 transportation for drop off and pick up $23 each way!

  • Stayed: February 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wiregirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2015

Thank you for continuing to choose to stay with us at the Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort!

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your room accommodations. We’re also happy that you enjoyed all of our amenities and popular shops and restaurants we have on property.

We look forward welcoming you back real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2015

We originally purchased a basic room and upon arrival (which was fast and friendly by the way) we decided to do a small upgrade and it was totally worth it! We were on the right side of the hotel (recommended) and had a gorgeous partial view of the ocean for not much more money.

Nice clean rooms that had everything a family of four (or five, because the sofa folded out into a bed) needed. We were rarely in our room so don't sweat this too much. This is right on the beach and centrally located to everything you will ever need in Honolulu. Be prepared for the very expensive lifestyle in Honolulu!! EVERYTHING is expensive here. We ended up going to the ABC stores for some cheap breakfast items and snacks. I recommend this to save a few bucks.

They have a great pool that is on the beach as well. You can go from pool to beach several times a day. :) The beach is very busy, but we liked this for the teenagers. On Friday and Saturday nights they have bands and drinks on the outdoor patio of the hotel that is also right on the beach. They provide all the towels you need for your trip. You might want to bring your own surf shirts if this is something you think you might need. There is a surf school right at the hotel, which is fantastic. Both our teen girls did it and loved it.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor and it wasn't loud at all. The hotel is set sideways so basically each room has a beach(ish) view.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Woody1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerReefHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2015

Aloha and mahalo (thank you) for taking the time to review our hotel. And also thank you for the great money saving tips as well! We really appreciate the feedback we receive and use it to improve our hospitality and recognize our employees. You can be assured we will share this with our entire hotel staff. Looking forward to your return visit with us at the Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews