We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,525)
Filter reviews
4,525 results
Traveller rating
3,154
946
278
95
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,154
946
278
95
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the study morimoto restaurant sunrise pool iron chef day bed pool area waikiki beach ala moana shopping our honeymoon adult pool main pool amazing hotel min walk red lobster pool staff turn down service main waikiki
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 4,525 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2018

What a surprise ... exactly the type of hotel and position we crave ! Modern (no pun intended) ... clean, laid back, but a little edgy. Looks cool, and smells better !! Absolutely loved the hotel and location,the staff were young but professional, efficient and very friendly, so now we have to go back soon... especially as they have even done some renos ! I rate this place 10 out of 10.

Room Tip: Try for the marina views rooms - fantastic
Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank L291MJstevec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

The Modern is a cool boutique style hotel.
The rooms were great and well maintained.
Unfortunately the main restaurant is no longer there and yoga classes are down to twice a week. We enjoyed our stay and the staff were excellent. Some maintenance is required on the timber and there were a lot of missing tiles on the upper pool area.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

The Modern is lacking a soul. If 'Modern' means 'completely devoid of signs that humans stay here,' fine. It's your kind of place.

We later learned that Diamond Resorts has purchased the property and is deciding whether to turn it into timeshares. Which explains why after checking in, the front desk person sent us over to the 'concierge' for some helpful information AND THEY PITCHED US ATTENDING A PRESENTATION ON TIME SHARES. Are you kidding? Imagine listening to that nonsense after a 14-hour trip. Of course we declined. The hopeful information turned out to be a map of the Waikiki area. Oooo.

I wanted to leave right then but we were only staying a couple nights on our way to Maui, too drastic.

The adult swimming pool is a good idea. I just wish the hotel had shown more evidence of good ideas. For the money, its guests deserve that.

Room Tip: Be aware that 'rooms overlooking the ocean' also overlook the marina parking lot, which is not attractive.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

From the welcome towel and lemonade shot to the towel and drink service by the pool.......really well done. Rooms are refreshingly designed and comfortable. If you want to avoid the noisier areas, you can. We're going back in January.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

Im still looking for the perfect place to stay in Honolulu and had always wanted to stay here. Good points were roomy accommodation and the fact we got an early check-in after a loooong flight. Our room was nice and clean. Bad points were noisy room as the walls are very thin and everyone seems to slam the doors in the corridor so we were unable to rest despite our early check-in. Secondly a private function had closed one pool so the remaining pool was totally over-crowded on such a hot day. I was very concerned about glass-wear in and around this crowded pool area although luckily there were no incidents while I was there. There were not enough lounges for guests so we went elsewhere. The resort fee was totally wasted for us. So all up, Im disappointed and will try somewhere else next time.....

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mintie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews