We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,499)
Filter reviews
4,500 results
Traveller rating
3,148
942
269
92
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,148
942
269
92
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the study morimoto restaurant sunrise pool iron chef day bed pool area waikiki beach ala moana shopping our honeymoon adult pool amazing hotel main pool min walk red lobster pool staff turn down service partial ocean view
Filter
Updating list...
1,559 - 1,564 of 4,500 reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2015 via mobile

The hotel was so beautiful! Stayed there for a friends wedding and the service was above and beyond! Favorite thing was breakfast in the morning poolside with a mimosa! Read about the avocado toast so worth the hype!!! So relaxing and can't wait to visit again. The modern is a must!!!

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Brittani D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2015

The Modern has it all - great location, fresh and inviting rooms, wonderful views of the ocean, Waikiki beach and Honolulu harbor. Restaurants and bars are great. Try the chopped salad outstanding. if you are hanging by the pool consider a cabana they have day packages that can include massages and food and beverage- great idea and a good value.
On check out day, the spa offers showers for departing guests, fantastic amenity
We will be back and send friends

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank MichaelGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2015

I stayed at the Modern Honolulu while at a conference, and found it to be very clean and hip. the staff was very friendly, professional, and helpful in all aspects (front desk, concierge, bartenders, etc). The rooms are modern and stylishly appointed. The hotel exudes a bit of an edginess (the theme around Christmas is "Naughty and Nice"), but there were guests of all sorts (singles, couples, families...). There is free coffee in the AM in the lobby (and a la carte breakfast items could be purchased). The Morimoto restaurant was fabulous, (FABULOUS), and the bar staff was very friendly. There are multiple bars - by the pools, off the lobby (with live music every night). Drinks were a little expensive, but were not skimpy.

I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2015

The hotel is very pleasant, the service is nice and is comfortable overall with a modern desgn, but the design for the beds is flawed, there are protruding edges all along side the bed and nearly caused my father an accident. This hotel is more for young couples than anything else, for a family it is alright but if your family has any clumsy klutz like me and my father, I would recommend being cautious of these edges. Another great thing is the proximity to a delicious breakfast at Tropical Tribe, opposite this hotel, where we had a light breakfast of fruit and berries. The in-hotel breakfast restaurant is decent but not great. There is though a restaurant by the name of Morimoto, downstairs in the hotel that is excellent for dinner

Stayed: December 2015
1  Thank Jaydon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2015 via mobile

As soon as you walk into the lobby for the first time you become starstruck, no doubt it's clean, beautiful, and unique. After you get your room key card it goes down hill... The rooms are well appointed and clean but not practical. The minibar fridge does not provide enough room to keep items cold. No morning coffee maker so expect to have subpar coffee in their cafe or walk down the street to an ABC store. The bed was okay but not comfortable. Had issues accessing the free wifi and the staff made us feel like like it was more user error than anything. The hotel on the weekend caters to the few party goers that hangout at their small club. We were originally on a lower floor clearly above the subwoofer and can definitely count down the bass beats and feel the vibration. The night staff was quick to hear our concern and moved us to a higher floor on the other side but the busy street noise still was not helpful. The next morning we were not the only couple going down the elevator with red eyes. Also, the location is not close to Waikiki beach, yes the walk is short but short is too long for us so never again.

One night stay, maybe to experience the hype, but that is it.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
7  Thank bndardundat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews