We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,508)
Filter reviews
5,508 results
Traveller rating
3,117
1,703
458
151
79
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,117
1,703
458
151
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hula grill ocean front dukes restaurant hula pie waikiki beach lower lobby partial ocean view the cheesecake factory diamond head side oceanfront room a city view room international marketplace our honeymoon fantastic location the royal hawaiian bell staff north shore
Filter
Updating list...
169 - 174 of 5,508 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2018 via mobile

Great time had by all..friendly staff everywhere..voyager 47 a great bonus of cocktails nightly..convenient location to enjoy everything waikiki has to offer outrigger trolley a bonus but infinity massage the best Mahalo everyone..best holiday

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Rita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerManager, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Aloha, Rita:
thank you for taking the time in providing such positive feedback about your recent stay with us at the Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort. Be assured that this feedback will be shared with our entire team.Mahalo Nui Loa for your 5-star rating of our resort. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Island Regards
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018

We have stayed here most years since 1992. The facility and staff are the best of any hotel in my experience - and this year was no exception. I can heartily recommend the Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach - now the "Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort" without reservation.

Changes have been in the works for a while, starting in late 2015 with the addition of the $30 "resort fee" which covered a few previously included items, as well as some new amenities. I have always regarded the resort fee (for any property) as a dishonest way of jacking up the room rate, but maybe that's just me.

Then in 2016, the Kelley family sold the chain to KSL Capital Partners. Apparently, KSL will be maximizing the value of the chain for its investors - really, a good thing - but the room rates for next year already exceed my budget. In addition, with no prior notice or consideration for existing reservations, the Chuck's Steak House in the property was summarily closed to make way for the "Voyager 47 Club" which appears to be a move to grab more cash from guests. My inquiries to Outrigger management regarding Chuck's were not answered.

So, with the rising room rates, resort fee, and - the final straw - Chuck's closing, we will not be returning to this wonderful hotel. In fact, to say that the presence of Chuck's in the hotel - with it's incomparable view of Diamond Head - is the ONLY reason we went to Oahu is not much of an exaggeration. We will certainly miss it...

Room Tip: All rooms are good, higher floors are quieter.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerManager, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Aloha and greetings from the Hawaiian Islands,

We appreciate you taking the time in letting us know how your recent stay was with us. Your feedback will be shared with all of our team members. Until next time, warm Island Regards from us all.

Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018 via mobile

I just called to book a room for a visit in August. I asked about the cost to rent a beach chair to sit on the beach of which I am a guest of. YOU MUST PAY BY THE HOUR to sit in a chair on the beach that you are paying to stay at. I will not be staying here and honestly, changing my whole itinerary to Tulum. Hawaii- get your act together and stop nickel and dining people. So many other fabulous palaces to stay in the world...

Stayed: July 2018, travelled solo
3  Thank MalbuMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerManager, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Aloha, MalbuMom:

We truly appreciate your review. Mahalo Nui Loa.

Warm Island Regards,
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018

From the moment we arrived at the hotel, we were greeted by friendly, smiling faces ready to make our stay memorable. The gentleman that checked us in was fantastic - he treated us as family, sharing stories of his native Philippines as they related to Oahu and Honolulu. He made the usually stressful and tedious process of check-in an enjoyable and genuinely fun beginning to our stay.
We stayed in a Diamondhead view suite on the 12th floor. The view from the 2 balconies was amazing - watching the surfers starting at sunrise well past sunset was incredible - the activity never stopped all day! The room itself was clean and spacious - there were 3 of us and we had plenty of room - the 2 full bathrooms were a huge plus. There was a little noise from surrounding room's door slamming and toilets flushing, but not enough to really be a bother.
We called housekeeping on several occasions for extra blankets and towels - the service was extremely prompt, and we were greeted by a smiling face each time, regardless of the time we called.
The staff at the pool was again friendly and efficient - fresh towels were plentiful and always handed over with a smile.
Access to the beach was super-easy, given the direct beachfront location of the property.
We had access the the new Voyager 47 lounge since we were staying in a Diamondhead suite - as usual for this property, the service was warm and friendly - we were always greeted by a smiling face, and offered assistance by the other staff members in the lounge. The food offered was plentiful and fresh - we enjoyed Breakfast and late afternoon appetizers and drinks before heading out to explore the city.
We ate at the Hula grill our last night - the ambiance, service, and quality of cuisine was outstanding - we would highly recommended it!
Overall, our stay captured the genuine Aloha spirit we were hoping to discover in Hawaii. Mahalo to a great staff and great facility that made our trip one that we will cherish forever. We look forward to returning again soon.

Room Tip: The Diamondhead suites on the top floors have an iconic view of Waikiki!
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roger1168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerManager, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Aloha, Roger1168:
thank you for taking the time in providing such positive feedback about your recent stay with us at the Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our beachfront location and room. Our hosts appreciates your compliments and acknowledgment of their efforts. Be assured that this feedback will be shared with our entire team. Mahalo Nui Loa for your 5-star rating of our resort, and your recommendation. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Island Regards
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018

From the moment you walk into the hotel to the moment you get settled into your room, the Outrigger is stunning! This was our first trip to Hawaii and it was like we had walked into a movie - everyone (the valets, the concierge, the bell clerk) smiles at you as you walk in, the check-in lobby has an antique outrigger canoe, the front desk offers you tropical fruit drinks as you sit an check in - no standing at the counter with luggage on your tired legs. Room-key card entry to the elevators made us feel secure. We had a chat one morning with Judy the housekeeper, so nice! The tropical theme continued in the good sized room, with very comfy beds, patio with ocean view, free wi-fi and bottled water. The beach!!! Wow, yes, that is Diamond head to your left. Soft sand, soft water (you can see to the bottom), and while we were there the water was only about 5 or 6 ft deep for quite a ways out. There's also a large patio with a pool and hot tub. Outrigger offers daily activities like lei making classes, ukulele lessons, etc. We were busy with our other family on the Navy Base so we didn't take advantage of those. There's no continental breakfast, unless you are part of a new program (47 something) but there are lots of places to go up and down the street. Two big restaurants in the lobby also have beach access, so you don't have to make two trips to the room. There are two little grab & go places on the first floor, too.Washing machines downstairs. Outrigger also has a free trolley that takes you from the hotel to Diamond Head, around to the Ala Moana Mall, and sops in between - just show your room key. Our driver Pat was quite the tour guide - stopping along the way to point things out. When you check in you will get a little "passport" to keep you room key in and it has LOTS of coupons. Use them! Anyway, enjoy your trip to Honolulu. Aloha and Mahalo!

Room Tip: Rooms on the right and closer to the street get a lot of noise from the night music and stern performers.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank KelliMcKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerManager, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Aloha, KelliMcKay:
thank you for taking the time in providing such positive feedback about your recent stay with us at the Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our beachfront resort location. Be assured that this feedback will be shared with our entire team. Mahalo Nui Loa for your 5-star rating of our resort. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Island Regards
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews