We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,331)
Filter reviews
4,331 results
Traveller rating
2,471
1,014
462
211
173
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,471
1,014
462
211
173
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the mai tai bar the pink palace mailani tower banana bread surf lanai azure restaurant pink lady historic section sheraton pool waikiki beach garden view beach boys historic rooms original building iconic hotel beach staff beach chairs
Filter
Updating list...
1,016 - 1,021 of 4,331 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Fabulous week in the Mailani Tower at the RH. Relaxing holiday with great service. The pool/beach staff very helpful and friendly. The tower is by far the best place to stay with your own lanai always something to watch while enjoying the ever changing vista. The new lounge in the tower lobby is good for complimentary continental breakfast if you are there before 9.30 and complimentary drinks and hors d'ouvres in the evening from 5.30pm.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ange052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Guest Experience Team at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2016

Aloha Ange052,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful and memorable stay in our Mailani Tower, and found the service to be so great.

We truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

I always wanted to stay at the " pink palace" but after doing so I can't give it a good review. It's a "resort "so why do you have to spend 40$ a day to rent a chaise lounge ? I believe it should be part of the price you pay to stay there. Does resort equal expensive and a charge for everything ? $3 for a bottle of water ? Really? Shouldn't a "resort " offer a ride to and from the airport ? This hotel doesn't. And you have to pay a whopping $25 a night to park your car AND the parking lot is over by the Sheraton. The food wasn't that great and is outrageously expensive. $38 for breakfast buffet! $22 for eggs ? $7 for coffee? For $300 a night breakfast and the coffee should be complimentary... The drinks were expensive and the service at their bar was horrible. Two days we didn't get any coffee, tea or cups replaced in our room.
Make sure you don't get room 128 in the historical part of the hotel. It is across the hall from the concierge and service staff offices. EVERY morning at 6 o'clock there was laughing, chatting and general ruckus from the service people. We asked for a room change and they told us there weren't any upgrades. We didn't want an upgrade, just a room change. I can hardly believe that every guest coming to the hotel had already picked out a room... They wouldn't move us even after asking 2 times. The wait to check in to the hotel was 25 minutes. One day my key didn't work and I had to wait 20 minutes in line to talk to the reception person. Then they wouldn't give me a replacement because I didn't have my i.d because I had just come from the beach, so they made me wait for the security guard. I waited by the room but after 10 minutes he still hadn't come. I went back to the desk and they had completely forgotten about me.
I was disappointed in my stay at this expensive resort. If you pay $500 a night instead of $300 maybe you would get treated better.
The hotel is charming and has tons of character, which is the reason I wanted to stay there, but you could enjoy it just as much by walking through it and staying somewhere else.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Off2Cthewrld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Guest Experience Team at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2016

Aloha Off2Cthewrld,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We are very disappointed to hear that you had a less than memorable experience at our property, and regret that you found many of the services to be expensive. We do work with and offer premium experiences to our guests, and while these may cost more than other places, we do believe in the services we provide. However, we apologize that you didn't feel that you received that.

We also noticed that the overall service you received from our staff was less than perfect. This is unacceptable, and we have addressed this issue with our team at the Mai Tai Bar and front desk in order to make improvements. If you choose to stay with us again, I would like to assure you that these issues will be fixed.

Please check your messages, as I will be following up with you to further discuss this with you.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

We just completed a three night stay at this hotel. Can't say enough good things about the way in which we were treated. Everything was absolutely perfect. A very special thank you to Craig Nishio who went well out of his way to ensure that a very special surprise birthday stay for my wife was truly memorable. Highly recommend this hotel. (HK)

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank World T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Guest Experience Team at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2016

Aloha World T,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We are thrilled to hear that you had such a great experience at our property. We always strive to make every guests' stay wonderful and special, so we're very happy that we were able to leave you with such a memorable experience. We appreciate the kind words about Craig Nishio as well, and will be sure to pass your nice comments along to him.

We are so glad that your wife had such a nice birthday, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016

After a grueling experience with Speedi Shuttle from HNL airport to our hotel, we were so happy we chose The Royal Hawaiian Waikiki for our 31st anniversary! What a beautiful hotel. We were ok with the room they initially gave us, however we decided to see if we could get an upgrade (SPG/Marriott members). To our very pleasant surprise we were were fortunate to that Melani answered our call. Melani is a warm, friendly, professional true Islander with ALOHA beaming from her smile. She was able to assist us and we could not be happier. The room is clean, has all amenities and a beautiful view. In the heart of Waikiki. Across the street from the New International Market. Beach front. Balconies. Melani sets the tone for the entire experience of the Royal Hawaiian.
Thank you Melani and the staff at The Royal Hawaiian for making our anniversary memorable.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Therese P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Guest Experience Team at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2016

Aloha Theresa P,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We are very pleased to hear that you had a memorable 31st anniversary at our hotel. I’m delighted that Melani took such great care of you as well. She truly embodies the Aloha spirit at our property, and we are so happy that she provided you with such wonderful service. We will be sure to pass your kind words along to her.

We thank you again for the wonderful review, and for choosing our hotel to spend your very special 31st anniversary at. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016

My wife & I stayed 2 nights in mid-October 2016, and we wish we had the time to extend our stay to enjoy more of the Royal Hawaiian's historic charm & its modern amenities. From the bell staff to the front counter agents to the housekeepers to the concierge desk personnel to the staff in the main restaurant, we were treated with genuine warmth and utmost courtesy and made to feel appreciated at every turn. Every call made to hotel services for assistance or advice was greeted with acknowledgment of our names, and we were promptly & effectively served. We didn't have to make many calls for service, though, as each room has a very handy iPad on the desk offering a mirror image of many of their website's information pages with service times and locations and other details.

Our "Historic Ocean" room was very well appointed in period-appropriate furnishings, with modern amenities and surprisingly spacious. In addition to the large sleeping area with king bed (one of the most comfortable we've ever experienced), there was an adjoining sitting area of equivalent size with a separating pair of sliding doors (a space that probably used to be an open lanai before the newer tower building was erected on that side of the main hotel space). The en suite bathroom was small - including a narrow shower stall - but was thoughtfully laid out & well equipped. The room was very well sound-proofed from adjoining rooms, with the thick carved wooden door providing extra sound deadening from the hallway.

All common areas, indoors & outside, were kept immaculately cleaned and groomed. The interior & exterior architecture are beautiful, the layout of the hotel grounds presents a comforting & inviting feel, and the proximity to the Waikiki beachfront with its variety of beach services was exceptional. We didn't get to enjoy the property's pools during our brief stay, but they all were very well maintained & visually inviting. The Surf Lanai (breakfast & lunch) and Azure (dinner only) restaurants share the same beachfront spaces, with amazing views of the ocean & Diamond Head and excellent service & food.

The Royal Hawaiian is a 1st class destination & top-notch operation from top to bottom and end to end.

Room Tip: Historic Building rooms older but well appointed. Tower rooms more modern.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank JMCSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Guest Experience Team at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2016

Aloha JMCSTL,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We are delighted to hear that you had such a memorable experience at our property, and would even consider ranking it 6-stars if you could! We truly appreciate your kind words about our staff as well, and are so pleased that they left such a good impression on you.

I’m delighted that the Historic Ocean room you stayed in was to your liking. The room truly encompasses the best of both worlds - a wonderful historic charm with a beautiful view of Waikiki Beach.

We thank you again for the kind words, and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews