We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (462)
Filter reviews
462 results
Traveller rating
320
105
22
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
320
105
22
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsking suiteboutique hotelurban beachapple tvsmall platessconesoatsno elevatorart museumlovely boutiquemy husband and itop floorthe main hotelthe cliffloved this hoteloutdoor deckthird floor
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 462 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

After researching many lodging options in the area this hotel seemed like a great deal and ended up being a fabulous choice. Included breakfast, free off street parking, and afternoon treats. We ended up with the junior queen suite which was basically like a small apartment with a living room and bedroom with private bath. It was perfect for a couple and while on the smaller size met all of our needs. Room had a beach house cozy vibe but also had modern amenities like Apple TV and usb plugs. Shower was amazing too. The room was clean and comfortable as well as the entire property being very well maintained. The staff was amazing and provided excellent recommendations for the area. Only small observation that kept us from giving 5 stars was that you could hear through walls and other guests using bathrooms/talking. With old buildings that is expected and did not prevent us from having a great trip.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018

Perfect location in Newport -- an easy walk to many restaurants and shops by the waterfront, but on a quiet side street so you feel a bit removed. My husband and I stayed for two nights and found the accommodations incredibly spacious and comfortable. Staff were very friendly and the breakfast spread was small (essentially tapas-style) but tasty. Would highly recommend and we'd love to return!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank EML1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbey H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

It certainly sounds like you were able to take advantage of our great location and walk the streets of Newport and enjoy the city's great waterfront! Love that you both found your room to be spacious and comfortable during your 2-night stay and we're thrilled that you enjoyed our homemade, small plates breakfast. We do hope to see you both again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018

We are frequent visitors to Newport and we are fans of the Lark Hotel Group so when we needed to make a quick last minute trip to Newport I knew that I wanted to stay at The Attwater. On a previous trip we had stayed at The Gilded, another Lark Hotel and we were very happy there and The Attwater was even more highly rated so I wanted to see for myself. Although our stay was less than 24 hours, we enjoyed it very much. Check in was easy and Peter was very engaging. Our room on the third floor (no elevator, not a problem for us) was spacious and decorated in the usual Lark whimsical way. There are common rooms on every floor that made us wish we had more time to linger and enjoy a glass of wine with friends. It is conveniently located to everything that is best about Newport as a destination. The bathroom was well appointed and the shower was incredibly relaxing. Breakfast the next morning was the usual tasty delicacies that are a hallmark of all the Lark Hotels that we have stayed in. We were very happy with our stay and agreed that it just seemed like a bit of a step up from the other hotel. We are looking forward to a future stay, soon we hope!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uzubuzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018

Amazing location in the middle of Newport, yet on a quiet street. We walked to all the restaurants, shops, and harbor area. It's like a B&B in a historic house, but with updated designs. Very friendly staff. We skipped the breakfast snacks to sleep in and go have brunch downtown.

Room Tip: Get a suite, they are very spacious
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JNewsxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

My son and I stayed for one night, and I wish we stayed for two! The staff was friendly, especially Peter who was there when we checked in. We were upgraded to a suite, which was fantastic. The place itself was clean and inviting; the room was equally so with a fireplace and plenty of space. Breakfast was amazing!!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank zucurci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbey H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

We wish you had stayed with us longer too but we're so glad you enjoyed your overnight stay with your son! So glad you found our staff to be friendly, enjoyed the large suite and its fireplace, as well as the amazing breakfast. You'll have to visit us again soon for another getaway!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews