We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful area and a wonderful place to stay!”
Quiet secluded comfy house in the Shenandoah Woods
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Quiet secluded comfy house in the Shenandoah Woods
Large modern hot tub Large game room with ping pong, pool and foosball!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
25 reviews
Quiet secluded comfy house in the Shenandoah Woods
Large modern hot tub
Large game room with ping pong, pool and foosball!
Comfortable living room with gas fireplace and TV
Full kitchen with dishwasher
Dining room with other seating nearby
Master Bedroom
Master bathroom
2nd bedroom
3rd bedroom
Bunk room with sleeping for 8
4th bedroom
2nd full bathroom
Outdoor picnic area with grill, campfire and playground
Unlimited dried/stacked firewood (fee is $10/night and added to every booking)
Come, sit and enjoy your morning coffee on the front porch
Privacy on all sides, no neighbors in line of sight
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Luray, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Robin and...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A beautiful area and a wonderful place to stay!”
Reviewed 9 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This is the third year my family and I have rented in Shenandoah Woods. We love the remote feel of the area with the beautiful woodland and mountains surrounding us. We go as a family to spend quality time together for a few days away from the stress of everyday life. We have found our accommodations both at Old Wagon Lodge and Sunridge Retreat to be so enjoyable. The homes are clean, spacious, and with every amenity you could ask for provided. The staff has been very accommodating and we will continue to visit in the years to come.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2017
Robin and family - you all were wonderful! Thank you very much for coming and we'll see you all next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erislee83
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“Awesome Rental for a large group!”
Reviewed 1 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

This house was the perfect rental for my group of 10. The house is huge and offers so many activities. The game room was great and the hot tub and fire pit also got a lot of use. The house had everything we could need. It's a short drive to Luray Caverns and very secluded.

The only thing is that the bunk bed room doesn't have a door which was kind of annoying for the couple that ended up staying in there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2017
Thanks for the great review, Eris! We really appreciated your group! Hope to see you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley P
Bel Air, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old wagon lodge”
Reviewed 24 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We visited this house 4 years ago around the same time. The house really needs some upgrades. The same window that was broke 4 years ago was still broke. The floors and carpet are extremely old, have cracks, have changed to yellow. The house also needs a deep cleaning. The price went up drastically from when we were there a year ago and the house looked really runned down. We loved our time there and it is an a great location with it being isolated. Love the lay out of the house and that it is so roomy. The playground also needs some tightening up and some paint. All in all a great please just needs some money put into it and it will be perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2017
Ashley, thanks for the review. HOWEVER, couple of things you said that are false. First, the broken window just broke. You're talking about the one in the kitchen. The outside pane cracked on an extremely cold day about 2 weeks ago and we've had difficulty getting it replaced. It has not been that way for years as you said. Second, the price has not increased in the past year drastically. We bought this property from the previous owners about 3 years ago. The price has remained the same from that point to now with very slight changes. I don't know what price the PREVIOUS owners gave you (4 years ago) but it hasn't changed in the past one year. We do plan on replacing the floors in the near future. Thanks again for coming out.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie L
1 review
“Great cabin with excellent amenities!”
Reviewed 1 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

My friends and I had a wonderful time at Old Wagon Lodge for a long weekend. The game room and the huge dining room table for tabletop games were big hits! I also really appreciated not having to provide linens or towels, which made packing easier. The kitchen was fully stocked with basic appliances, cookware, and lots of plates and silverware, and even some cooking oil and seasonings, which was really helpful. The place was clean upon arrival and comfortable to stay in. I also loved how great the owners were with communication - I received key info a week before check-in and then again the day of arrival, and departure information the day of departure. The information was clear and helpful and the staff very responsive to inquiries. I hope to stay there again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Dec 2016
Hi Annie, thanks for the great review! We appreciate the kind words. You were great to work with - great communication and all house rules were followed. We hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSUTW
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazingly Peaceful”
Reviewed 22 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Such a great place to escape to and enjoy friends. The amenities were fantastic and we all had such a lively experience being able to bond over old stories. The fire pit and game room were too much fun! haha. Thanks for providing such a fantastic space!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The game room
Liked least: having to leave after 2 days
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing