We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great cabin getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
The Black Bear Lodge, built 2013!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Black Bear Lodge, built 2013!
AMAZING views! Private hot tub w/amazing, unobstructed night sky views!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
The Black Bear Lodge, built 2013!
AMAZING views!
Private hot tub w/amazing, unobstructed night sky views!
The road approaching the Lodge. The views are amazing, even from the road!
All custom kitchen w/stainless appliances
Kitchen w/custom birch cabinets
Spacious fully equipped kitchen
Upstairs Living Room w/fireplace
Oh, the views from this cabin!
Fireplace w/quarried stone surround
Super comfortable & peaceful upstairs living room
Super cozy lower level w/game table
Lower level living area
Local Art
Game table
Enjoy books, games, and puzzles!
Enjoy our library of books!
View from lower level French doors.  Breathtaking!
Queen bedroom w/direct mountain views and en-suite BA
Queen bedroom
Downstairs BD w/two twins and mountain views
Downstairs BD w/two twins and mountain views
En suite bathroom w/oversized tub
Second full BA
Lower level full BA
Enjoy coffee or meals outside w/mountain views!
Upper deck w/plentiful seating for enjoying the views.
Absolutely stunning views from the deck: Shenandoah Valley in front, Skyline Drive above
Relaxing on lower patio
Plenty of acreage for privacy or playing!
More views!
Winter views from deck!
The views from the backyard!
The Black Bear Lodge!
Pastoral Views too!
Double Rainbow from the deck!
Laundry Room w/ w&d, iron board
Large patio w/lower level access - hot tub, grill, and fire pit!
Shenandoah National Park - 15 minutes away
Shenandoah National Park
Luray Caverns - 10 minutes away
Luray Caverns - 10 minutes away
Lake Arrowhead - 10 minutes away
Lake Arrowhead - 10 minutes away
Lake Arrowhead - 10 minutes away
Quaint downtown Luray - 10 minutes away
Main Street Luray - shopping, dining, wine bars, brewery, theatre.
Local Markets
Local Markets
Local Markets
Winding roads and mountain views all around you!
Farm community
Farm community
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Luray, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

KatieB169...
Annandale, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great cabin getaway”
Reviewed 14 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We loved the Black Bear Lodge. There was lots of space in the 2 living areas, and plenty of room to sleep. The cabin included 2 foldaway beds to accommodate a third child in the twin bed room downstairs, which meant the grownups all had their own space. The view down the hill was amazing and we enjoyed the fire pit -- even in July. We will be back to get away from the DC area in a relatively short trip.

Date of stay: July 2016
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
15mattj
Cancun, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice place in a pretty location!”
Reviewed 22 June 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for five nights in April and this is a great place! It's got a ton of space inside; we managed to get our baby to sleep downstairs while the rest of my family was upstairs and it worked out well for everyone. There is a supermarket right in Stanley which is very close and convenient also. The kitchen is well equipped and there is a ton of outdoor seating space as well.

Date of stay: April 2016
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terrig457
Yorktown, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Perfect Graduation Weekend”
Reviewed 23 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Our son graduated from JMU and we were lucky enough to find this beautiful mountain cabin to spend a few days and celebrate his accomplishments. Everything was perfect when we arrived. The house was immaculate and certainly ready for our arrival. We thoroughly enjoyed being at the house......the fire pit, the hot tub, the view.....we couldn't have asked for anywhere nicer to make such great memories. We went into Luray for lunch after graduation, which is about 10 minutes from the house. There was a winery about a mile away, which was a lot of fun the day after graduation. We will definitely be back. We could not have asked for a better weekend!!!! Jim and Lisa were just the best to work with!!!!

Date of stay: May 2016
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1celtic55
Shamokin, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AWESOME!!!”
Reviewed 13 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Everything you could want and more~ Spectacular views-fully stocked with all your needs-roomy, yet cozy-clean and well maintained-this is the cabin to be in with family and friends!!! Lisa, the owner, makes sure you are fully pampered!!!

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views are just breath taking!!
Liked least: It was to cold to sit outside on the porch to enjoy the mountains and rolling countryside. Although, if it hadn't rained we could of made a fire in the fire pit and enjoyed that!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohgollyge...
Mount Airy, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 9 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
3
people found this review helpful

The house and view were beautiful and proximity to Luray was great. And the house was CLEAN! The mattresses were firm and but not hard, and the sheets good quality. I'm very picky about cleanliness, mattresses and sheets. Even the matress pads were spotless. We didn't cook much, but the kitchen and supplies were clean and very nice quality. Things you might generally need were provided; plenty of paper towels and TP, extra towels for the hot tub, hair dryer, books, games, first aid kit, even a little makeup mirror. Everything felt new and purchased for this property. The amenities were as described and no problems. The furniture was comfortable. The house was spacious. Though not what I call cozy, the house had a warm welcoming feeling. And we loved the Hawksbill Trail in Luray. This place was perfect , and we plan to come back and bring a couple more friends. It was great for two people, but why waste that lovely downstairs.

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness
Liked least: Not a thing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.