We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful and Quiet Retreat.”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of Cabin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of Cabin
View from porch Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
Front of Cabin
View from porch
Living Room
Gas Log Fireplace
50' HD TV
Kitchen
Double Bedroom
Full Bath
Queen Bedroom
Queen Bedroom
Porch Sitting Area
Porch Swing
Dining Pavilion
Firepit
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Luray, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ronald E
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful and Quiet Retreat.”
Reviewed 13 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This was a spontaneous trip to the mountains for my adult son and I before he headed back to college. The cabin is situated in a nice secluded area not far from fun attractions. The cabin itself is quaint and clean. It has all the creature comforts that a city dweller like me, enjoys and the charm of your grandma's house. Mr Erik does a great job of leaving instructions to help one get settled in. He also made himself accessible if you have any questions about the surrounding area. We would definitely return for a weekend getaway.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles F
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding location, excellent accomodations”
Reviewed 9 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We had a family of five stay at the Fox Den for 6 days at the beginning of July. The location was excellent for access to some of the highlights of our trip: canoeing on the Shenandoah, exploring Luray caverns (and the connected attractions), and hiking in Shenandoah National Park near the Skyline Drive. All of these locations are within a half hour drive. The Thornton Gap Entrance to the Skyline drive is only a few miles away.
The cabin itself is well represented by the images on the TripAdvisor page - Two bedrooms, bath, kitchen and living room (with a fold out bed.). Everything was clean and homey. The kitchen has everything you need for cooking the basics, and there is a gas grill and fire pit if you want to do some outdoor cooking. The air conditioning was particularly nice in early July. There is a phone available for making reservations or for emergencies, which is valuable since the cell phone service died about a quarter mile down the road. There is no WiFi Internet access, but hey you are out in the woods!
We had the pleasure of meeting Erik who was pleasant and upbeat. He was eager to make sure our stay was a success.
There is no doubt that we will stay at the Fox Den again if we ever determine to vacation in the same area.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D W
1 review
“Visiting Family”
Reviewed 20 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Loved the Fox Den Cabin, very clean and inviting, the area around Luray, Va beautiful and so interesting. Would come back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewed 14 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michael P
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Expectations surpassed”
Reviewed 21 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The pictures on the site were what drew us to the cabin but the accommodations the owner thought of were what made us want to stay. From porch swings to DVDs to linens, music, blankets, and a kitchen ready to cook in, it was a pleasing experience and only 15 minutes or so to the attractions. We will be booking again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2017
We aim to provide a simple, thoughtful vacation experience and this review speaks to that. We welcome feedback from each guest that stays with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing