We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Light Show on Tuesday/Friday/Saturday nights”
Review of Main Plaza

Ranked #18 of 228 things to do in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2018

One of the few places we've visited multiple times. They have an awesome light show starting at 9 PM (also 9:30 and 10), but just on certain nights. It was Tuesday, Friday and Saturday when we were there this time.
It's a visual history of San Antonio, and is just awesome to watch. Last a little over 20 minutes, so get your cell phones out and record it to share.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank 349Alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"light show"
in 182 reviews
"the san fernando cathedral"
in 46 reviews
"laser show"
in 22 reviews
"night light"
in 7 reviews
"nice plaza"
in 6 reviews
"saturday and sunday"
in 8 reviews
"beautiful light"
in 5 reviews
"bexar county"
in 7 reviews
"beautiful church"
in 13 reviews
"across the street"
in 10 reviews
"the river walk"
in 25 reviews
"texas history"
in 12 reviews
"downtown area"
in 7 reviews
"saga"
in 44 reviews
"projected"
in 39 reviews
"facade"
in 26 reviews
"courthouse"
in 19 reviews
Filter

19 - 23 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2018

The light show on the facade of the cathedral was really good. It lasted about 25 minutes. We came partway through the first showing (at 9 pm) and stayed through part of the next showing (at 9:30). We were there on a Saturday night, and the second showing was much less crowded.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank ChristineD4031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

Next time you are in San Antonio over the weekend make sure you make time for the 30 minute laser show they put on the San Fernando Cathedral. They do 3 FREE shows on Friday and Saturday nights. It is done so nicely you will be in awe. I've seen it several times and tell everyone I know about it. It is not your typical "laser" show. Go and check it out you will be happy you do.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Texbuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

An amazing show is held several nights a week, 3 shows per night, that traces in moving lights projected against the San Fernando cathedral the history of San Antonio for their 300th birthday. It only lasts for 20 minutes but is really fantastic, not like anything else I have seen. Don't know how long it will be there (we saw it early Oct.) but don't miss it if it is still around.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank FrequentFlier809842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

Lazear show on San Fernando Cathedral, 9pm on Tuesday night. Walk there from our hotel which was on the Riverwalk. Plaza is about 1/2 block off Riverwalk. There was about 300 people there. Get there about 45 minutes before to get chair and good viewing location. Clean and safe area, public restrooms, 2 food trucks and one was selling beer & wine.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank bob34280fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Main Plaza also viewed

 

Been to Main Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing