We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Felt Like Home”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
147 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Salem, Massachusetts

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 147 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Luvhaunte...
Elmhurst, New York
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Felt Like Home”
Reviewed 11 April 2011 for a stay in April 2011

THis house was so warm and cozy you felt good staying here! Yes there is ghost but they don't bother or scare you at all! We gathered at night and talked til 2 am int he Living room downstairs and that is where "Boogie" the cat visited us from the world beyond. It was a wonderful experience. The only downfall is you might want to skip the breakfast part. They say you get breakfast well it depends on how you define breakfast..if you like dry cereal with milk and not so good coffee your good! She did put a big plate of fruits which was fresh adn very delicious...and she also had some banana bread which is DELICIOUS! and Cheese crumb cake that was good. If you expect a warm hot breakfast you might as well go out! Other that this the house is gorgeous!!! Pam is very informative and helpful We are definetely going back!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R0ger87
Wantagh, New York
1 review
“A Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 3 March 2011 for a stay in February 2011

The Henry Derby House was by far the best B&B experience I have ever had. Upon entering the charming house, my girlfriend and I knew that our weekend in Salem was going to be great. Peg couldn't have been more hospitable and accomodating. She took the time to show us a map of Salem, point out any points of interest, and she even showed us the locations of the best restaurants in the area. (Taste of India being my personal favorite...go there!) The bed in the room was very comfortable, and the bathroom was immaculate. The breakfast offered there was great; Peg offered us a variety of fresh fruit, cereal, and pastries. If you are interested in visiting Salem, I would highly recommend staying here. It makes you feel like you have a home away from home.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KandSD
Kennebunk, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location - Nice place to stay!”
Reviewed 23 December 2010 for a stay in April 2010

We traveled to Salem for our first anniversary. We chose the Henry Derby House because of it's location and it was well worth it! All of Salem's restaurants, bars and attractions are within walking distance or just a trolly ride away. The inn itself was a beautiful old historic building that enhanced the whole Salem experience. The only draw back was the room was small and the adjoing bath was tiny. Peg was a gracious host. She gave us a map of Salem upon our arrival and took the time to sit down with us to point out the best places to go.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fallcanus...
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location, clean,friendly,homely atmosphere, good breakfast”
Reviewed 14 October 2010 for a stay in September 2010

Perfect location - close to lovely old section of Salem, walk to train (1/2 hour to Boston) Henry Derby House is a very interesting old house, maybe a ghost or two if you're lucky. Peg is a sweetie, very helpful with lots of local knowledge and starts you off with a good breakfast and friendly chat. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Salem, House of Seven Gables, Witch Museum, overall atmosphere - great place. Thanks Peg.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pwsmith
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Quaint BB w/Great Service”
Reviewed 7 October 2010 for a stay in September 2010

You can feel the history in this cute old house, and Peg was instrumental in guiding us in our first visit to Salem. She was honest about what was good (Red's restaurant!!! I'm longing to go back -- would have missed it without Peg's recommendation), and what could be skipped (some of the 1,000 witch stores...). The healthy (fresh fruit, organic cereals, etc...) breakfast was specifically laid out for us on a beautiful set of old china at exactly the time we had told her (she asked, "When would like breakfast?"). We will definitely return to our home away from home in Salem.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$500
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing