We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Serene animal lovers sanctuary”
other travellers have booked this property
Main house on property and drive approaching house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main house on property and drive approaching house
Entrance to casita and glimpse of private patio Queen sized bed and part of sitting area with two recliners
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Main house on property and drive approaching house
Entrance to casita and glimpse of private patio
Queen sized bed and part of sitting area with two recliners
Casita
Casita
Casita
Vonnie and Blaze
Trail ride
View from our ranch
Barn
Jerry and Vonnie on ATV
We even have cows.
View front our front yard.
Vonnie giving a lesson in our arena.
It did snow and the horses loved it!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Tucson, Arizona

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
pam151
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Serene animal lovers sanctuary”
Reviewed 7 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Jerry & Vonnie are excellent hosts - helped us find birding, mountain biking & hiking opportunities. The casita is a little small for an extended stay (we stayed for a month) but is excellent value. A breezeway with mature Mesquite trees between the house & casita keeps it very pleasant. Birds of many species, cottontail rabbits, mule deer - even a family of bobcats - visited. Vonnie leads excellent trail rides - but only for people who weigh less than 170 pounds (we chose Casa de Caballo partly for trail riding but only one of us met the weight limit). The ranch feels remote due to its excellent siting surrounded by natural vegetation and foothills of Santa Catalina mountains but is conveniently located next to a huge active adult retirement community & a only few miles from all types of shopping & services.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mewssouri
Kansas City, MO
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience in every way!”
Reviewed 18 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

All I can do is rave about our stay at Casa de Caballo. Vonnie and Jerry, our hosts, are great, unpretentious people who make your stay special. The accommodations were perfect for us and the surroundings are beautiful. It is secluded and private. The casita is small but quaint with everything one would need for comfort and it is decorated beautifully. Great Tempurpedic king-sized bed. This is not the Ritz, but if you love animals, nature, and down-home great people who respect your privacy and yet make you feel like family, this is the place. We are already planning our next stay. It was that perfect.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Outlander...
Winston-Salem,NC
Level 6 Contributor
360 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Perfect stay in a quiet, private Casita nestled in Foothills”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

If you are high maintenance, meaning you need constant fussing over, this may not be the place for you, as Jerry and Vonnie, perfect Hosts in our book, respect your privacy. So often, at a B&B, we often feel we are staying at someone’s home- here we had a separate Casita, private area of the patio complete with our own grill, patio table and chairs.
The small Ranch, complete with horses, replete in a natural, sanctuary-like setting (birds galore!), where you could hike, stroll, sit and stare at the stars was the perfect place to just relax.
We had a small kitchenette, stocked with coffeepot, dishes, pots, etc. Vonnie was there to add anything you needed….Upon arrival she gave us ‘gourmet’ quality fruit basket, coffee, breads, yogurt, eggs etc. so we were able to set our own schedule and make breakfast when we wanted. Oh – also provided was a great bottle of wine!! You could totally cook meals here- we purchased rotisserie chicken and steaks at the nearby grocery and grilled and microwaved veggies.
Casita was spotless and bed Temporpedic – very comfortable. Direct TV and WI-FI.
Restaurants nearby, 10 minutes, Tucson downtown, 20 mins or so.
In closing, perfect Hosts - terrific stay - fantastic people!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Hosts congeniality and serenity of the property
Liked least: We really have no complaints!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101azmimi
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“Awesome”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Patio is alive with birds almost all day. It is very shady and breezy sat out almost all day long.
It was a fabulous weekend and we will definitely like to come back.

Vonnie and Jerry are a couple that compliment each other and this makes you feel as if you are visiting friends that you have had for years.

It was a great time and they even tolerated our 'needy' dog Polly. She thought she owned the place after one afternoon.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roomtogo
Shoreline, WA
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Caring Hospitality on a Ranch”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed in the Casita at Casa de Caballo for 11 nights, while exploring the Tucson area and the surrounding communities. Although this property is located behind an exclusive retirement community, there are many advantages for staying here. Most important are the hosts, Vonnie and Jerry Kauffman, who will do everything to make your stay comfortable. The king size bed was so comfortable, we actually slept more than we anticipated. Wi-Fi was also free. Our refrigerator was stocked to the brim with a variety of fruits, juices, yogurts, eggs, bread, etc. including coffee . The "one-butt-kitchen" has everything one needs to make a dinner, lunch or picnic. A BBQ grill is right outside the entry door, in the garden patio. Hikes can start at your front door or you can drive to many trail heads. Speaking of driving, this place is located off the Oracle Rd. behind Saddlebrooke (a retirement community) where you can dine at the several clubhouse restaurants for very modest prices and get good food or cocktails. It's a short trip to the Biosphere II research center and a longer one in the opposite direction to downtown Tucson. However, that didn't stop us from exploring Green Valley, or the Desert Museum, both a little more than an hour away. Shopping for groceries is along Oracle Rd, and includes a Trader Joes and Kroger grocery stores.
We highly recommend a stay at Casa De Caballo, whether it's for a weekend get-away or a longer stay to explore the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful setting, the stars in the clear sky, and our hosts.
Liked least: There wasn't anything we didn't like.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$90
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing