We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Location, location, location”
other travellers have booked this property
Brown Cabin- built 1931, updated for comfort and use.  Great family memories are made here!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Brown Cabin- built 1931, updated for comfort and use.  Great family memories are made here!
Living room- big handcrafted stone fireplace! Master bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Brown Cabin- built 1931, updated for comfort and use.  Great family memories are made here!
Living room- big handcrafted stone fireplace!
Master bedroom
Master bedroom (2nd floor 21x11)
Private master deck
View from master deck
River views and sounds from the front porch.
Front Porch mountian view.
Bedroom 2- queen
Bedroom 3- two twins
Bedroom 4- queen
Large fully equipped kitchens.  Everything you need.  If it's not there, just call!
Dining room with seating for 8-10
Wildlife commonly visit our secluded mountainside.
Back patio with charcoal grill
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Estes Park, Colorado

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Scott B
Grants Pass, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed 9 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
3
people found this review helpful

The location of this cabin was BETTER than advertised. River view/sounds were terrific, despite nearby highway that became nearly irrelevant, as were the mountain views from the front porch. 5-minute proximity to Estes Park was convenient and the owner (Jim) was responsive to inquiries. This property accommodated our group of 10 without major problems (meals on the front porch or dining room), even though the use of 2 (two) bathrooms took some planning. Either by intention or maid error, there was an insufficient supply of bath soap, laundry soap, and garbage bags (plan to bring your own?). Use of the charcoal grill was prohibited because of forest fire precautions, though other rental properties in the area had not issued similar prohibitions (you may want to check with local fire department or USFS--though my phone calls to them went unanswered).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Mountain/river views and proximity to Estes Park
Liked least: Purchasing soaps, garbage bags, etc.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jcjintegr...
Aurora, CO (suburb of Denver)
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very rustic and unique large cabin with wonderful large porch & kitchen”
Reviewed 16 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
8
people found this review helpful

This cabin would be a nice place to stay with a family group, if you want easy access to Estes Park and Rocky Mountain National Park (RMNP). We had mixed feelings about the place. Here are the things we liked best and least:

Best features:
* large L-shaped porch with view of river, trees, wildlife and some mountains
* huge kitchen with large amounts of counter space and cupboards
* kitchen has dishwasher, garbage disposal (control is mounted below sink), full-size refrigerator, crock pot, dishes, flatware and glasses for 8, cooking utensils, pots and pans
* first floor full bathroom has good shower, counter space and storage
* living room area has large picture window with beautiful view, fireplace and lots of seating on couches, chairs, or window seat
* upstairs master bedroom is huge with comfortable King bed and windows on 3 sides; also had small vanity, recliner and another large chair (no desk as shown in picture)
* 3 small bedrooms downstairs (one with two twins, two with doubles)
* dining room with seating for 8 with a cute pass-through opening from kitchen
* windows throughout cabin could be opened to let in cool air from outside
* bedding was clean and comfortable
* many books and decorations provided a homey atmosphere
* foaming hand soap provided in both bathrooms and in kitchen
* TV reception was excellent
* nice back patio area with table and chairs for picnicking and/or BBQ

Less desirable features:
* master bedroom upstairs has no door
* upstairs bathroom has no electric outlets, walls are not pieced together well (some gaps), has no soap holder in shower, very small space (door hits toilet)
* could not connect to internet, even with owner's assistance
* one bedroom downstairs has unglassed "windows" into living area, with thin window coverings plus an open area above the door; therefore noise can travel between bedroom and living area
* room with 2 twin beds has a door directly to outside and a locking door into the house, so would not be appropriate for most children
* carpet, couches and throw pillows looked clean but smelled musty

We understood that a house built in the 1930's would have a lot of character, like creaking stairs, etc. There were dressers, drawers, and cabinets built into every imaginable place to provide tons of storage. We enjoyed many of those characteristics, as well as the spacious kitchen area and wonderful large porch with great views. We were just disappointed that the "rustic" interfered with our comfort in some ways, especially when the living room furniture didn't feel clean.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beautiful large front deck and spacious kitchen
Liked least: furniture didn't seem fresh and clean; small upstairs bathroom seemed unfinished
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2013
I am disappointed at this review, and would like to address the following:

We take pride in providing the best experience we can and are always available if a guest lets us know of any concerns. The only concern expressed to us was that of internet and was an issue with guests computer. Internet signal was strong and other computers easily connected.

Cleanliness. We are careful to keep our cabin maintained and clean. We use a checklist with our cleaners that contains close to 100 items. The furniture and throw pillows were replaced 2 years ago and removed/ cleaned 2 months before this visit and are vacuumed/wiped between visits. Stating furniture looked but didn't "feel" clean is not possible to address.

Master bedroom has no door. Master suite is on a floor by itself.

2nd and 3rd bedrooms have queen size beds, not doubles.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South San Francisco
Reviewed 3 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Texas
Reviewed 3 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Jan 2013
We always enjoy having people visit and share the magic of winter in Estes Park, a real secret worth experiencing.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CO
Reviewed 9 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Sep 2012
We have regular pest control, but at certain times of the year do get unexpected visitors. We believe we have once again addressed this issue and have not seen recent activity. The rural mountain areas can be a challenge in this area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing