We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very nice suite for the price. Close commute to...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Oxon Hill, Maryland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MrKropp
Aurora, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice suite for the price. Close commute to Capitol. Hotel in Good Condition”
Reviewed 17 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed 3 nights in a 2 Bedroom, 2 Bathroom Suite. Me wife and I, 3 Teens, and 3 younger kids (yes they are all ours). Wife and I took the Master Bedroom, Teens and pre-teen took the 2nd Bedroom and my 6 and 9 year old slept on the sofa bed. Slightly cramped for a family of 8, but would be perfiect for a family of 5 or 6.

Overall we were pleasantly surprised by the good condition and and cleanliness of the room, halls, pool area, and other common areas. They have a common area off the pool with a pool table and large library of movies to rent for $2 per night. Many of the movies are G or PG and appropriate for younger kids. They also have a room with a Wii and Xbox for the kids, and an old fashioned game room.

The car ride to the Wash DC is reasonable. Make sure to use Google Maps navigation. A few times it rerouted us due to heavy traffic and found shortcuts to save us time. Car ride is much faster than taking the Metro, also much cheaper for a large family like ours. We found 3 free public parking lots just South of the Jefferson Memorial along the river.

There is a CVS pharmacy right next to the hotel which came in handy as one of our kids developed an ear infection from swimming. We spent most of our time in the Capitol during and at the hotel at night. There are plenty of restaurants to chose from in the resort area, but we only ate out one one night and found it to be overpriced for the quality of food and service.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Suite with multiple Bedrooms is large enough for a big family
Liked least: lock on Master Bedroom door was broken
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan B
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful venue but service could be better.”
Reviewed 18 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The Wyndham is beautiful but be warned if you arrive before 4 o'clock you most likely will not get into your room. We waited two hours in the lobby. Believe them when they say 4 o'clock for checking in. Also, we had a problem in the parking garage. Our rental car was keyed. The front desk clerk mentioned it had happened before. Hopefully the manager will help us out. The staff seems a bit young and inexperienced but very polite. The area is beautiful and easy access to DC. The free shuttle from metro, in the afternoon, takes residents first and then Resorts guests if seats are available. Luckily we were able to get seats

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james4410...
Ballwin, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice property with excellent service”
Reviewed 27 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
4
people found this review helpful

The Good:

The rooms are very spacious and nicely decorated. We booked through DVC and if you are a DVC member you can expect rooms similar to those DVC provides. The staff is friendly and helpful, always pleasant.

The area is nice, with a number of upscale but chain-like restaurants and some cute shops. There is a CVS that has some basic groceries but if you are planning to cook in your room you'll need to drive to a real grocery store.

The mediocre:

The indoor pool is very small and the outdoor pool does not open until June. There is no dining onsite. The parking is fairly convenient but if it is raining you will get wet and it does cost $13 a day which I found strange for a hotel that is off the beaten path instead of a city center.

The bad:

Doors are thin. Heard way too much noise from the hallway. One night a group down the hall was having a party that started at 10pm at night and we heard every guest arrive rather loudly for a half an hour.

Claims that they have "free internet" are completely false. The free internet is throttled down so much that you can't even load a web page with a picture without it loading like it's 1970 and you have a 300 baud modem. If you want an internet that you can actually use you have to pay $10 a day. No idea how fast that was, I didn't pay out of principle.

There is no laundry in the room. In 20+ years of staying at RCI resorts I have never had a room without a washer/dryer????

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Nice room
Liked least: Lousy internet
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMJRM
Scranton, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“RECENT STAY”
Reviewed 14 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Hotel beautiful, harbor area great, a couple of issues with shuttle to metro, shuttle was not at metro station location as indicated on flyer and phone #'s (one was invalid one no weekend help). We had no problem driving in and parking in Washington DC. Used Parking Panda which reserved a spot and only cost $13.00 per day on weekend. Hotel issues minor- Volume on tv's do not go below 40 (don't know why) but way to loud especially at night, not all lamps or switches worked, ceiling fan in one bedroom did not work and whirlpool tub they should advise will turn on by itself 10 to 15 minutes later to clean after you use it.. Make sure they advise the correct way of using parking ticket, we had to pay additional$ because front desk advised the wrong procedure. Desk would refund but was not posted to debit card before we left to get money back.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda T
New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beyond our expectations!”
Reviewed 12 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Always use Trip Advisor prior to traveling and we had read reviews that the staff was.....unpleasant? This could not be further from the truth! We were greeted with smiles and the staff could not have done anymore for us. Check-in was perfect. Even though our flight arrived very early, they allowed us to check-in at 9:00 am vs. the specified 4:00 pm. Great 2BR 2Bath suite....extremely clean and comfortable. Found a nice place nearby for breakfast, laid by the pool then went in search of a grocery store. There is a gourmet market just around the corner, but we went to Alexandria and shopped at a Safeway. We had a rental car and had no problems driving in and out of the city. The Ronald Regan parking garage worked best for us. $13.00 flat rate on the weekend and $23.00 weekdays. Very near the White House and Washington Monument. Easy walking to National Mall. National Harbor is quiet yet convenient to DC. 15 to 20 minute drive. Restaurants in National Harbor are wonderful. Rosa Mexicano, Cadillac Ranch and Sauciety were are favorites. LOVE Bobby McKeys Dueling Piano Bar for evening entertainment. Be sure to walk down to the harbor in the evening and watch the big screen TV. They were showing a football game our last night there. Neat to kick back in chairs surrounding the lawn and watch the game. Great vacation! PM me for any questions you might have.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us! We hope you’ll consider Vacation Strategy for your next trip; we look forward to working with you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing