We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sean H
Melbourne, Australia

Worth stopping in as the last place to rest for over 80km.

Review of Waiau Tavern
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 Jan 2023via mobile
Stopped for a coffee and a rest on the journey and were delighted by the friendly service and good atmosphere. Looks like a nice place to spend a lazy afternoon. The coffee was hot and strong and we were very happy with our service. We didn’t try any of the food though.
Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • eDreams
0.4 km from Waiau Tavern
Free Wifi
Free parking
Largest Log Building in NZ
    18.9 km from Waiau Tavern
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    No fees just great deals
    • Vio.com
    3.7 km from Waiau Tavern
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $285
    • Hotels.com
    20.2 km from Waiau Tavern
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $155
    • Hotels.com
    22.2 km from Waiau Tavern
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $209
    • Hotels.com
    22.3 km from Waiau Tavern
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $121
    • Booking.com
    22.4 km from Waiau Tavern
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $129
    • Hotels.com
    22.4 km from Waiau Tavern
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Aerial View
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $159
    • Hotels.com
    22.5 km from Waiau Tavern
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $186
    • Hotels.com
    22.6 km from Waiau Tavern
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Waiau
    Reviews (22)
    Filter reviews
    22 results
    Traveller rating
    14
    8
    0
    0
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    14
    8
    0
    0
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews blue cod hanmer springs kiwi motorhome earthquake kaikoura hosts
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    5 - 10 of 22 reviews
    Reviewed 2 January 2023

    Went to the tavern for a nice lunch. Had a brilliant feed for shockingly cheap prices. Everyone was super friendly and keen for a chat. “My girl” the cat was a great greeter too.

    Would highly recommend!

    Date of stay: January 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Departure45352681324
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 20 November 2022

    Highly recommend this darling of a country pub - a must motorhome POP.
    Michelle is a top host and the blue cod meals are amazing. You wouldn’t know these hosts have battled on through earthquakes and fires - they are welcoming and friendly. A great experience.

    Date of stay: November 2022
      • Service
    Thank KayeKeys
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 1 August 2022 via mobile

    Dropped in on the way through for lunch. The blue cod buttie was a real revelation. Ive had lots of blue cod over the years but never like this … it was outstanding and comes with my unconditional recommendation … Speights with it was great too! Superb hospitality from owners and locals. Will definitely be back. Well worth a day trip out from Christchurch

    Room tip: Motorhome parking over night too
    Date of stay: June 2022
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    Thank teemcnz
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Michelle Beri, Owner at Waiau Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2022

    Thank you very much, it was our privilege

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 May 2022 via mobile

    What a corker place with two corker hosts. One of the friendliest stopovers I've encountered and I've been to some beauties . This place is a true leading gem in an area full of gems. A place of authentic downtime country faire and hospitality. Make an effort to stop by...you will definitely be treated well.

    Date of stay: May 2022
    Trip type: Travelled solo
    Thank Roam03343095489
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Michelle Beri, Owner at Waiau Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2022

    Thank you very much for your terrific review.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 April 2022 via mobile

    A very unexpected stop on our way from Kaikoura to Hanmer Springs- but a fantastic one! The story of the earthquake and the old hotel/tavern is a sad one, but gotta love the South Island spirit, they’re still going! Fantastic lunch here, couldn’t fault the food or the hospitality- thanks! It’s you’re passing through absolutely recommend stopping.

    Date of stay: April 2022
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank TouringTurtles
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Michelle Beri, Owner at Waiau Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2022

    Thank you very much.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews