We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Trevor

What a gem!

Review of Waiau Tavern
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 31 Jul 2022via mobile
Dropped in on the way through for lunch. The blue cod buttie was a real revelation. Ive had lots of blue cod over the years but never like this … it was outstanding and comes with my unconditional recommendation … Speights with it was great too! Superb hospitality from owners and locals. Will definitely be back. Well worth a day trip out from Christchurch
Date of stay: June 2022
Room Tip: Motorhome parking over night too
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michelle Beri, Owner at Waiau Tavern, responded to this review
Responded 1 Aug 2022
Thank you very much, it was our privilege
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • eDreams
0.4 km from Waiau Tavern
Free Wifi
Free parking
Largest Log Building in NZ
    18.9 km from Waiau Tavern
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    No fees just great deals
    • Vio.com
    3.7 km from Waiau Tavern
    $265
    • Expedia.com
      $220
    • Priceline
      $265
    • Hotels.com
      $257
    20.2 km from Waiau Tavern
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    $320
    Fully refundable
    • Priceline
      $320
    • eDreams
      $278
    • ZenHotels.com
    21.3 km from Waiau Tavern
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    $64
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
      $64
    • Agoda.com
    21.4 km from Waiau Tavern
    Free parking
    $161
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    • Expedia.com
      $158
    • eDreams
      $140
    • Priceline
      $161
    22.2 km from Waiau Tavern
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Hotels.com
    • Expedia.com
      $129
    • Algotels
    22.3 km from Waiau Tavern
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    $198
    • Priceline
      $198
    • Expedia.com
      $198
    • Hotels.com
      $198
    22.4 km from Waiau Tavern
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    $129
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    • Expedia.com
      $129
    • eDreams
      $112
    • Priceline
      $129
    22.4 km from Waiau Tavern
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Waiau
    Reviews (22)
    Filter reviews
    22 results
    Traveller rating
    14
    8
    0
    0
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    14
    8
    0
    0
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews blue cod hanmer springs kiwi motorhome earthquake kaikoura hosts
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    8 - 13 of 22 reviews
    Reviewed 4 May 2022 via mobile

    What a corker place with two corker hosts. One of the friendliest stopovers I've encountered and I've been to some beauties . This place is a true leading gem in an area full of gems. A place of authentic downtime country faire and hospitality. Make an effort to stop by...you will definitely be treated well.

    Date of stay: May 2022
    Trip type: Travelled solo
    Thank Roam03343095489
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Michelle Beri, Owner at Waiau Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2022

    Thank you very much for your terrific review.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 April 2022 via mobile

    A very unexpected stop on our way from Kaikoura to Hanmer Springs- but a fantastic one! The story of the earthquake and the old hotel/tavern is a sad one, but gotta love the South Island spirit, they’re still going! Fantastic lunch here, couldn’t fault the food or the hospitality- thanks! It’s you’re passing through absolutely recommend stopping.

    Date of stay: April 2022
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank TouringTurtles
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Michelle Beri, Owner at Waiau Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2022

    Thank you very much.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 26 January 2022

    I spent the day at Waiau Tavern, by myself not knowing a soul, within minutes i made friends with the locals, sent on a walk alongside the river and was just throughly enjoyable and full of laughter. i had a hearty burger (YUMMO) on the front deck outlooking the cosy small town of Waiau. Thank you for being an exceptional host Michelle, will be back for sure!

    Date of stay: January 2022
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    1  Thank pamelaj124
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Michelle Beri, Owner at Waiau Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2022

    Thank you so much Pamela, you were an absolute delight to have around. All the best for the future and hope to see you again soon x

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 29 December 2021

    My wife and I travelled down from Hamilton to attend a family birthday, hosted by Michelle and Lindsay. Great food, cold beer, these guys treat the locals more like family than customers and we were made to feel the same. The steak and blue cod are top notch. A must visit if you're in north Canterbury.

    Date of stay: December 2021
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank Kirikiriroaboy
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 29 December 2021

    Michelle & Lindsay are great hosts. They have persevered despite the loss of the hotel & covid. Top notch meals & a great park up spot for the motorhome. Watched the sheepdog do his thing & got a couple of trout in the river. Thanks guys. We'll be back.

    Date of stay: December 2021
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank johnoV9613FN
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews