We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Peter

Amazing

Review of Waiau Tavern
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Dec 2021
My wife and I travelled down from Hamilton to attend a family birthday, hosted by Michelle and Lindsay. Great food, cold beer, these guys treat the locals more like family than customers and we were made to feel the same. The steak and blue cod are top notch. A must visit if you're in north Canterbury.
Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • eDreams
0.4 km from Waiau Tavern
Free Wifi
Free parking
Largest Log Building in NZ
    18.9 km from Waiau Tavern
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    No fees just great deals
    • Vio.com
    3.7 km from Waiau Tavern
    $257
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Algotels
    20.2 km from Waiau Tavern
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    $153
    Fully refundable
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • eDreams
    22.2 km from Waiau Tavern
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Hotels.com
    • Expedia.com
      $116
    • Algotels
    22.3 km from Waiau Tavern
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $120
    • Booking.com
    22.4 km from Waiau Tavern
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    $129
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • eDreams
    22.4 km from Waiau Tavern
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Aerial View
    $170
    Fully refundable
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Expedia.com
      $170
    22.5 km from Waiau Tavern
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $176
    • Expedia.com
      $178
    22.6 km from Waiau Tavern
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Waiau
    Reviews (22)
    Filter reviews
    22 results
    Traveller rating
    14
    8
    0
    0
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    14
    8
    0
    0
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews blue cod hanmer springs kiwi motorhome earthquake kaikoura hosts
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    12 - 17 of 22 reviews
    Reviewed 29 December 2021

    Michelle & Lindsay are great hosts. They have persevered despite the loss of the hotel & covid. Top notch meals & a great park up spot for the motorhome. Watched the sheepdog do his thing & got a couple of trout in the river. Thanks guys. We'll be back.

    Date of stay: December 2021
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank johnoV9613FN
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 11 December 2021

    Never in my long life have I experienced the hospitality and welcome of tje locals as I have at the Waiau Tavern. These people work hard to make their customers happy. They will all be stored in my memory of happy times. The food is top notch with very gòod prices. They have been hit hard with the big earthquake, then a fire and now covid mandates but they continue on with an attitude of resiliance that we could all learn from. Thos will always be my go to place when i want tp relax.

    An atmosphere that cant be beaten.

    Date of stay: December 2021
    Trip type: Travelled solo
    1  Thank donmO9895ZV
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Michelle Beri, Owner at Waiau Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2021

    Thank you Don, ot has been terrific meeting you. All the best for your new job x

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 5 June 2019 via mobile

    We spent Queens Birthday in Waiau on the recommendation of friends. We were told to have a meal at the pub and in fact we went twice.The friendly greeting when you walk in the door and the great pub meals make you want to return. Sad to see the earthquake damaged original hotel still unusable but the venue they are trading out of now is cosy and warm.

    Date of stay: June 2019
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Bernie A
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

    Had a very pleasant meal here while heading to Picton. It was very full whit a bikers convention but they were easily able to make room for one more. The food was great and staff very friendly, as were the locals. The atmosphere was a real buzz.

    Date of stay: January 2018
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank AS1472
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 5 October 2016

    We stayed the night at Waiau RV park and of course had to dine at the local pub. Wow. A perfect example of country style and hospitality here. Watched the local shearers playing snooker, had a few beers, a great meal ( except for the vegetable soup ) and a jolly good time... Great, authentic establishment well worth a visit.

    Date of stay: September 2016
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Chris M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews