We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll miss you Lisa”
Review of Cheeky Kea Cafe - CLOSED

Cheeky Kea Cafe
Restaurant details
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Full of beans is currently under new ownership and will be re-launched on Dec 29, 2011. Former owners, Lisa and Riki made the best coffee and baked treats in Franz Josef. I hope the new owners can live up to their standards. Stay tuned; I'll post again after the 29th.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JJMorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (6)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 6 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2011

Great place to eat in FJ. The helpings are very generous and the prices are excellent. Was really in need of a decent coffee and theirs really hit the spot. During our stay there I went back each day for my "fix". Walls are a bit barren but there was a comfy couch by a fake fire heater and the food made up for lack of ambience. It is a shame that they are not open for dinner.

Date of visit: August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Trish J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

A good selection of food available including hot meals and cakes etc,the staff are friendly and it has a warm atmosphere. If you sit outside you have a good mountain view

Date of visit: May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PatMacnz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2010

Full of Beans has great coffee, but their food leaves much to be desired. Yes, it is cheap, but a beef nachos, a quiche, and chips were almost inedible. A shame really.

There is an excellent internet cafe next door (fast connection and only $4/hour).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Glynis031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2008

The staff at the helicopter booking centre recommened this cafe for a good coffee so respecting local knowledge we tried it. They were correct - in fact it was the best coffee we had throughout our entire holiday on the South Island. We were so impressed we returned for lunch and had the most delicious blue cod, chips and salad for $6.00 less than another restaurant in Franz Josef. The decor of cafe itself pretty uninviting but don't be put off - it is clean, the staff are friendly and the food and coffee is excellent.

Thank rabbit59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cheeky Kea Cafe also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing