We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
mrpsuk m
Whitchurch, United Kingdom

Very confortable.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Apr 2024
This place was easy to find, and off the main road, so very quiet. Check in was straight forward and the host was very informative and helpful. Fresh milk was provided.
The room was on the first floor. A nice comfortable huge king sized bed was very welcome after a day of driving! The room was very clean. the bathroom was nothing special, but very clean and certainly very adequate. Parking was not a problem at all over our two night stay. Definitely a good choice for touring the area.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim Xiao, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier, responded to this review
Responded 18 Apr 2024
Dear Our Valued Guest,

Thank you so much staying with us and taken time sharing us a great feedback. We are so pleased to see you have enjoyed your stay, we trust you had a good time in Franz Josef Glacier and hope to welcoming you again next time.

Best regards
Jim & Cindy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$364
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $364
  • Vio.com
    $324
  • Official Hotel
    $385
0.2 km from Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier
Free Wifi
Restaurant
beds
$120
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $107
  • Agoda.com
    $98
  • Expedia.com
    $120
0.2 km from Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier
Free Wifi
Free parking
$165
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $137
  • Agoda.com
    $127
  • Expedia.com
    $169
0.1 km from Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier
Free Wifi
Free parking
$145
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $135
  • Agoda.com
    $125
  • Expedia.com
    $145
0.0 km from Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier
Free Wifi
Free parking
$60
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $60
  • Vio.com
    $53
  • Agoda.com
    $68
0.3 km from Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $107
  • Hotels.com
0.1 km from Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier
Free parking
Restaurant
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $199
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $570
  • Hotels.com
1.4 km from Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier
Free Wifi
Free parking
Glacier View Villa
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $218
  • Priceline
2.4 km from Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $118
  • Priceline
3.2 km from Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Franz Josef
Reviews (430)
Filter reviews
430 results
Traveller rating
137
189
78
17
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
137
189
78
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews room was clean and comfortable the main street guest laundry heli hike spa bath the kitchen stayed here for two nights motel glacier town mountains accommodation toaster dvds hokitika
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 430 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2024

When you stay with Bella Vista you know what to expect and whilst there are subtle nuances that define difference locations, the experience is fundamentally the same. The hotel is located slightly away from the main street of Franz Josef, but still in a busy location. There are many restaurants within a very short walk and except for touring the region, once you park at the hotel, you don't need your car for getting around the town.
We had booked a Compact Queen room, however we were put in an access room on the ground floor, which had a great deal of space and a large bathroom.
As you expect from Bella Vista, everything was immaculately prepared and presented and its hard to fault any aspect of it. This room was also fairly dark, with effective drapes.
We didn't have much interaction with the hosts, apart from at check in.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MarcusLC61
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 October 2023

Bella Vista Motel met all expectations including toaster & microwave in room.
Our room No 15 was upstairs and in a good location.
Check in was easy with friendly staff. Everything was neat and clean.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BroomeAussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 May 2023 via mobile

Franz Josef is a small modern village. It’s a few minutes walk from the Bella Vista motel to the restaurant, Four Square and DOC information centre. Lovely view from our room to the snow covered mountain peaks. We were told a family of Kea visit a big tree outside and we heard them next morning before sunrise. Our room was clean and comfortable.

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank dondT5349AJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 March 2023

Drove across from Christchurch to Franz Josef Village. This little motel room had all the basics, plus a single element portable stove and a large sunbeam fry pan. Great for little meals to assist with the costs. Off street parking. Walking distance to everything in the village. Short drive to Franz Josef Glacier.
The hotel manager was informative and helpful with local advice. After a wet first day, we awoke the following morning to see ice on the mountains from our motel door.
Guest laundry available.

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jennywV567FT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 March 2023

We stayed at the Bella Vista some years ago and found it a great place. With that in mind we booked the same motel again. What a mistake!

The room, though clean, stank. No idea what it was but it kept me awake and made me feel 🤢. The following day my husband bought some bathroom cleaner to pour down the drains. This helped a little. The next day a man physically opened the drains to try an sort the problem. A slight improvement was the result. The kitchen tap is not secure and swings about. The motel WiFi didn’t work. To be fair, this could have been location/ reception.

On a positive note, there was a warm welcome and the staff are very helpful and friendly. DVDs are available to borrow from reception. The bed was extremely comfortable.

Bella Vista, it is time for a refit.

Room tip: Guests upstairs can be heard moving around when you are in a downstair room. Best be upstairs.
Date of stay: March 2023
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 66allington
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews