We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
CheapTickets
US$80
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/05/21
Booking.comUS$84
Orbitz.com
PricelineUS$84
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (416)
Filter reviews
416 results
Traveller rating
129
183
79
17
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
129
183
79
17
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews disabled room small room free wifi room was clean and comfortable the main street heated towel rail guest laundry in town comfortable stay one night stay heli hike south island helicopter flight laundry facilities two nights motel glacier
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 416 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2020 via mobile

Booked a compact room and got a free upgrade to a bigger queen room which was nice.
Went out for a drink and came back to a cold room. The heated towel rail, bedroom heater and half of the electric blanket didn't work. Went to reception to see what could be done but it was closed at only 5.50pm. Still closed when we left at 9.15am the next day.
Handy location just needs better on site service.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JoM3140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam Haugh, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2020

Hi Jo,
Thanks for stopping of with us on the 30th. Thanks for letting Miyargy our morning receptionist, know the electric blanket in your studio was not heating on one side, before your departure.
Our rooms have a key tag energy saving feature in them. When you came home from dinner I suspect that your room key did not make it back in the key tag holder next to the light switch. In this room, unit 2, it works the power for the heater and towel rail. I have upgraded the label on the heater to have a larger font making it easier to read.
Hope you enjoyed the rest of your journeys around the south island.
Kindly
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2020 via mobile

Simply can’t fault this hotel. The location is a stones throw away from restaurants and booking agents. The staff, especially Jim are awesome. The breakfast is amazing, simple but really really good. Did I mention Jim, he’s so helpful. The beds were comfy and the pillows were awesome. We loved this placed. One last shoutout for Jim, he was the real MVP.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank KiwiMatt00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam Haugh, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2020

Hi Matt,
Cheers for swinging by Franz on your travels and likewise for the positive feedback. I'm pleased you enjoyed the breakfast, bed and our central location. Yes, we are fortunate to have Jim with us. He ensures that every day a good one around here!
Cheers
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2020 via mobile

Staff are extremely helpful and welcoming. Rooms were spacious, clean and tidy. Loads of heaters made it all very cosy. Location is perfect. Off main road so very quiet but a 2 min walk to shops. Would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: June 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank SherylL294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam Haugh, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2020

Hi Sheryl,
Great news that you enjoyed our central village location. It sure is good to be within an easy walk of all the activities and shops.
We look forward to your return stay.
Regards
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2020 via mobile

Very pleasant reception staff. A clean, but rather small motel room, at a good price. Shared table for outdoor meals. Located near the centre of the village and all its facilities. Good for a 1-night stay.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AndyMackl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam Haugh, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2020

Hi Andy,
Clean and a good price is a win in our books! Your stop was in one of our lead in rooms, the queen compact studio. Yes these are as the label suggests, compact, but well equipped
Trust you enjoyed your visit to the NZ glaciers and all the best for your future road trips.
Cheers
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2020

Basic but clean room with double & one single bed. Comfy double. Tea & coffee facilities & milk provided by friendly and informative reception team. Good shower. We arrived on a day of rain so grateful for the heaters in the room & bathroom. Location is at the centre of FJ so a step from the restaurants and a 5m drive from the walks towards the glacier.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Munrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews