We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (376)
Filter reviews
376 results
Traveller rating
113
169
73
15
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
169
73
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot pools ground floor mountain view within walking distance family room new zealand free wifi the main street in town bed was comfortable guest laundry one night stay restaurants and shops small town heli hike short stay south island
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 376 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2016

Excellent value for money. Also great view of the glacier from the hotel. I think the room is smaller than the Bella Vista in Queenstown but it had everything you want. No lockbox in the room but you can leave your stuff with the staff. They also suggested Snake Bite restaurant to grab a bite which we loved.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bturka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam H, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2016

Hi,
Thanks for your five star review. It really makes my teams and my day!
Each Bella Vista Motel has three different sized rooms, the Compact Queen, which does have breakfast making facilities but no kitchenette, the slightly larger Queen or King studio and the 1 bedroom unit which is idea of families. I've taken a bit of a liking to Snake Bite Brewery, their cooked breakfast is a great start to the day!
Cheers
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

Highly recommend this motel. Staff were very friendly and had the room heated and lit ready and waiting for our arrival.
Rooms were clean and spacious, could see the snow topped mountains from the window, and shower facilities were good.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam H, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2016

Hi Kay,
Thanks for the really positive feedback. All feedback is really important as it helps us be better but good feedback really makes it all worth while!
The view from our upstairs King Studio towards the mountains is a bit special on a clear day.
Trust you enjoyed your time exploring the West Coast.
Regards
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2016

Convenient to all in-village attractions, restaurants & heli-flights. Snow Chalet, not-to-big style. Warm, friendly & fairly priced. Family orientated & with backpacker situations available. Free parking. Recommended

Stayed: October 2015
Thank JimS499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam H, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2016

Hi Jim,
Thanks for staying with us while in Franz. From May through to October we do have some really well priced accommodation. We do have the odd back packer camper van stop with us when the occupants need a good bed and decent shower, but we don't have backpacker rooms as such available, just studio and family units.
Cheers
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2016

This was a one night stop on our journey down the west coast. I had pre-booked prior to our trip after reviewing many of the other choices. The host was lovely and helpful and even offered us a choice of two rooms, but the rooms themselves were cramped and although the view of the mountaintop out our window in the morning was lovely, we had no desire to linger inside. This property is dated and I would likely not stay there again if there were better fresher, newer offerings. It is fine for a night, but nothing special.

Room Tip: Second floor offers the best views.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam H, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2016

Dear Debra,
Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay with us. I'm sorry that the size of the rooms did not meet your expectations. Every person is different in their needs which is fair enough. We have continued to invest in keeping our rooms fresh and new, with new blankets, pillows and a freshen up of the paint among other things.
Kind regards
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2016

The location is easy to find, but granted, Franz Josef Township basically only has two streets and two blocks. Still, sufficient parking, and once you're there, it's at most a 5-10 minute walk to anywhere in town.

The front desk person was quite helpful, and even though we arrived rather late in the day (around 9 pm), he was very accommodating helping us check in. We stayed two nights and the room was well-serviced and all of them were very polite.

The room itself was very clean, especially the bathrooms. The heaters also worked very well for the cold nights. It also had most of the amenities you might want to make yourself meals. Beds were comfortable. The wi-fi signal is strong and speeds rather fast. We had a downstairs room so the doors opened directly into the parking lot. Even just from the parking lot, the views of the surrounding mountains were to die for.

Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hartfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews