We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$84
View deal
Free cancellation until 20/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$84
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/05/21
FindHotel
US$75
View deal
Expedia.comUS$84
eDreamsUS$84
PricelineUS$82
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (570)
Filter reviews
570 results
Traveller rating
297
222
42
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
297
222
42
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot pools one night free wifi franz joseph the main highway min walk good size quiet location within walking distance new zealand helicopter flight short stay two nights motel kitchenette glacier town
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 570 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2020

This is a small motel in a small city. With seven of us we took up 4 rooms which seemed like half the motel but in truth there were quite a few rooms tucked away in the middle of this motor court.

The truly unique thing about this property was the manager and her assistant. They were beyond helpful providing insight, recommendations and, most importantly. umbrellas. Although this is a small property by living on site they seemed omnipresent which was a good thing.

As advertised the rooms were large with small kitchenettes. The bathrooms were adequate, the bed cozy. The sliding glass door entry seemed a bit odd at first but it was functional. A chair outside the room allowed you to enjoy your neighbors if you chose.

We were only there for two nights. I wish it had been more. After staying at big city hotels in Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch, this was a nice, relaxing change of pace with a welcoming staff to boot.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Thank KenVicLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2020

Clean and comfortable lodging operated by friendly hosts. The room's 24” TV screen was a little small for watching videos on a rainy day and the mattress was too soft for me, but it's in a quiet location that offers a short walk to downtown restaurants and attractions. The friendly host gave good touring information, but the wifi was spotty even after her assistance. The motel has a washer and dryer. Enjoy the beautiful snow capped mountain views (on a clear day) from outside.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 50StateVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2020

We stayed here one night. The room was a decent size. They did not have air conditioning but had an oscillating fan. Storage was sufficient but the room had no safe. It had a small equipped kitchen area with a 2 burner oven top, tea kettle, microwave, toaster and refrigerator, along with some pots, pans, utensils, plates, cups and cutlery. Shower pressure was good, but shower was very small. The mattress and pillows were too soft and definitely needs replacing. The area around the motel is great. There are shops and restaurants, all within walking distance. Parking is free. However, if you plan to stay in the area after check out time, you must move your car. We were up early since we booked a helicopter tour, so we were able to secure a parking spot on the street in front of the hotel. When we were walking the prior night, we noticed a parking lot down the road. It was empty since it was later in the evening and the crowds subsided.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenM1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2020

58 On Cron is in a quiet part of town (although nowhere in Franz Josef is that remote) just a stroll from restaurants, shops and the West Coast Wildlife Centre where you can see kiwi (if you have sharp eyes). It has all you need for a short stay and pleasant staff who can advise how you can see the glaciers for free - no need to take a helicopter flight or a tour. King Tiger the Asian restaurant next door is tasty and the hot pools opposite are a great way to end the day's sightseeing. Small observation, the motel's overwhelming brown decor is a bit dreary, I'd be tempted to brighten it up a bit.

Date of stay: March 2020
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2020

No stairs to encounter. Comfortable room and adequate bathroom facilities. However being surrounded by bikers was not ideal but well positioned for restaurants and bars with a leisure sauna and natural spring pool across the road.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lampug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews