We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (522)
Filter reviews
522 results
Traveller rating
278
200
37
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
278
200
37
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot pools hot springs one night franz joseph lady at reception bedroom apartment the main highway short walk place to stay bars and restaurants south island convenient location stayed for nights new zealand helicopter flight bed was comfortable glacier walk
Filter
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 522 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2016

Generally very pleased with this accommodation. Walking distance to all amenities in Franz Josef village but not on the main road. It’s a small motel complex where you park in front of your unit. The room we had was a good size, well decorated and modern with a small kitchenette. There are BBQ areas and you are encouraged to self-cater. There is a supermarket in the village which is not too expensive if you look for offers, and has good meat. There are good mountain views from the complex. Free plunger coffee is supplied which is excellent.
All the units face the parking area and the main illumination comes from a window at that end, so there is a certain lack of privacy if you have the lights on and people are wandering around in front of the units. It could also be noisy if you were unlucky but it was quiet overnight while we stayed. You get vouchers for free wifi access which is good but we found the service to be pretty slow for anything more than email. Other than that and the price I would have rated 5 stars.

Room Tip: Maybe an end room would be more private
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenakitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2016

We loved staying at 58 on Cron. We ended up putting the three kids in a one bedroom unit while we took the King studio. The property is well maintained, clean, and up to date. It's an easy walk from the property to the main center of the town. Also, directly across the street is the hot pools and activity center. There are grills on the property, so grab a couple of steaks and a bottle of wine at the Four Square grocery store in town, grill up a nice meal and then sit outside to eat it. We enjoyed walking into the land next to the motel after the sun had gone down to look up and see the stars.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gone2TheBeachPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016 via mobile

Very clean, comfortable and location (away from busy main road and just over the road from hot pools). View of the bush at the back and a peak of the mountains out the front. Think we had one of the best rooms for the view, parking and bring next to nice bbq area #14 one bedroom unit

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
Thank KiwiAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2016

We were late and arrived at 8.15 pm ( which must be a usual occurrence for tourist passing through from Greymouth to the south.) as a printed note of our room location was pasted on the office door and how to contact them. Unfortunately they forgot to place our towels so had to call them and while we had dinner all was sorted. Room was medium sized and kitchen had the usual essentials. Located just 500m from maintown and eateries. The large bath room and had showers! a rarity in south NZ.. Overall clean room and with a heater.
In the morning we encountered a helpful informative staff at checkout.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank humanH1N1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2015

We arrived after midnight so the hotel staff left a note for us with the key. The location is perfect. Just across the street from one of the main heli tour offices. The room was good ... a little overpriced but to be expected given that it's a major tourist destination with limited lodging in the area. Ours had a second bedroom and kitchen. Check out is at 10AM, but that should be fine since everyone around the glaciers is up early to get out into the wilderness.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bena182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews