We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
FATandJ
Manchester, United Kingdom

Great place to stay in FJ

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
We had a fantastic apartment, surrounded by greenery, great views and not overlooked. The room was spacious, clean and had all necessary, basic cooking utensils and, importantly, good coffee making facilities. The location is good in the essentially tiny town. The onsite restaurant, Monsoon, is good.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$200
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Rainforest Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
beds
$120
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Rainforest Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
$570
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Rainforest Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Main entrance
$145
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Rainforest Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Glacier View Villa
$219
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.3 km from Rainforest Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
$139
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.5 km from Rainforest Retreat
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $327
  • Official Hotel
    $385
0.1 km from Rainforest Retreat
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $151
  • Hotels.com
0.2 km from Rainforest Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $138
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Rainforest Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $99
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Rainforest Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Franz Josef
Reviews (2,728)
Filter reviews
2,728 results
Traveller rating
1,483
735
300
137
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,483
735
300
137
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tree lodge monsoon restaurant gecko village deluxe treehouse breakfast basket bar restaurant on site restaurant private spa powered site the kitchen hot tub camper van native bush great facilities new zealand double room holiday park
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 2,728 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is truly a hidden Gem in Franz Joseph! Beautifully hidden in the mountains. A short drive to Alex Knob complete with great facilities including Spa and Sauna. The service was also incredible. The lady at the front was simply delightful and made our experience one to remember

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trek58355531985
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 May 2024

The accomodation exceeded our expectations. Staff were friendly and efficient.
Good coffee, fridge microwave, comfortable beds and great bathroom.
Very centrally situated, a short level walk into town.
Beautiful setting as per images.
We would definitely recommend and will return next time we’re in the area.
Thanks.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 April 2024

Spacious and comfortable room. The area we were in had two adjoining rooms per building. If your neighbor wasn’t quiet, oh well. Front desk person was just a live body. She had no interest in providing service. The included breakfast was a joke. The first morning, the cook quit in the middle of breakfast so they stopped serving. The second morning, the restaurant was locked. We saw someone leaving the building and so we asked about breakfast service. He turned around to go back, asked what we wanted. Weird. Coffee is extra when breakfast is included with the room.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 April 2024 via mobile

Stayed in a tree lodge for two nights. The accommodation is set back in a wooded area but is part of a larger complex which includes a motel and campsite so is fairly busy with comings and goings.
It is ideally located for access to the town itself, the main stretch is a few minutes walk away. Franz Josef Glacier Guides are around 100m from the Rainforest Retreat so convenient if you are booked onto any of their excursions.
We only ate at the onsite restaurant Monsoon once, for breakfast. They had a good range of options.
If in Franz Josef, would recommend the Landing Restaurant who do great pizzas and Snakebite bar for drinks.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 282aidang
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 April 2024

What a fantastic place! Very clean and tidy with great staff. Very peaceful in the rainforest. Definitely recommend staying here!

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel18329990969
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews