We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:30 am - 7:00 pm
Save
10 Day South Island Explorer
0 reviews

Book in advance
from
US$1,396.37
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Te Koha Gallery
from US$1,396.37
More Info
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
93
12
2
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
93
12
2
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews create your own wet west special piece beautiful pieces support local rainy day whole process awesome activity two hours fun experience amazing experience franz joseph necklace stone jade jan carve
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 112 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2021 via mobile

Awesome place, lovely people. Highly recommended. Guided through the whole process. Go and support local kiwi businesses .

Date of experience: February 2021
1  Thank petecross9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 6 January 2021 via mobile

This is a hidden gem... yes that was a poor attempt at a pun. This is a home based studio just 6 ks south of the township. You are warmly welcomed by the family pets and made to feel part of the family from the moment you arrive. Jan is great at knowing when to step in and help and when to leave you to just give things a go. She is very supportive and encouraging.

I have always wanted to learn how to do stone carving. Who knew I would enjoy it just so much!! I made a morepork or ruru for my mum. She loves it.

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank Bridget P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 5 November 2020 via mobile

Awesome visit today. Made my own bracelet and really enjoyed the experience of picking your own stone then grinding it to shape. Thanks so much :)

Date of experience: November 2020
Thank ChelseaC1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 30 October 2020

This wasn't on our radar when we arrived at Franz Josef. Our plan was to do the Helihike but due to weather it was cancel. And we are kind of glad it was cancelled or else we might not have come across Jan's studio!
We had a wonderful experience craving our stones and Jan was very friendly and guided us with excellent instructions.
Great for a rainy day activity at Franz Josef.
And it was very decent priced. So go visit them and support local NZers!

Date of experience: October 2020
Thank CMotelChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 15 February 2020 via mobile

We had a great time carving our own pieces and would recommend this to anyone coming to Franz Josef. A good unique experience!

Date of experience: February 2020
Thank mchgtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
JanneneJ, Owner at Te Koha Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2020

Thanks Guys. It was brilliant having you here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews