We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:30 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Best experience on the coast

What a win...ours boys aged 15 and 13 loved this whole experience. Jan the owner operator was so... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
francesh37
via mobile
A must do experience

What a truly fun experience! We spent the morning with Jan who taught us about pounamu and guided... read more

Reviewed 29 May 2021
ange_82_foxtrot
,
Sydney, Australia
via mobile
Read all 107 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Franz Josef
from US$62.33
More Info
from US$363.00
More Info
from US$257.40
More Info
from US$257.40
More Info
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
88
12
2
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
88
12
2
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jade pieces support local rainy day whole process unique experience heli hike necklace stone jan carvings pounamu workshop grinding activity treasure weather coast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2019

Typically, I purchase jewelry pieces to remind me of my travels. Being able to make my own piece, and some pieces for friends, was awesome. It's a very personal experience and Jan was very helpful in making sure they came out well. The area itself has some stunning views of the mountains. I enjoyed my time there and the conversation, and some wonderful hot chocolate. And I now have some jewelry to always remind me of Franz Joseph and NZ. Well worth it.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2019

This was such a fun and creative activity to do. Jan was warm and welcoming and had us on the grinders within 15 mins. She gave great advice and was happy to help bring our ideas to fruition. Our finished pendants had a string applied so that they were ready to wear and were packaged in a pouch if you wanted to give as a gift. This was a great way to make your own souvenir from New Zealand and learn a bit about the skill of stone grinding and decorating. Thanks, Jan!

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank BelD123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanneneJ, Owner at Te Koha Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2019

Thank you for that. Enjoy the rest of your time in N.Z.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2019 via mobile

Jan is an absolute delight. She really cares about what you decide to make and will help you to no end. A lovely sentimental token to take home with you.
Thank you

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank ajames349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarAway821800, Owner at Te Koha Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2019

Thank you so much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2019

The rain came but the visit to carve greenstone at Te Koha Gallery made the day perfect. Such fun. The ladies were not only helpful but engaging. A must do.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Retiredlijeimeanit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarAway821800, Owner at Te Koha Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2019

Thank you so much for your nice review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2019 via mobile

Super fun activity for a rainy Day and a sweetheart of a host who was super helpfull had a wonderfull time and left with a lovely ston

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Lisaborum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanneneJ, Owner at Te Koha Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2019

Thank you Lisa for your kind words. It was a pleasure meeting you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews