We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Estelle50_12
Newcastle, United Kingdom

Fabulous stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Mar 2024
We were concerned as there were mixed reviews but it was great. Our room was gorgeous with a lovely view, fab toiletries, a very comfy bed, lots of room…..everything you could want! The fireplace made it really cosy in the evenings. It was great to have a laundry and the room was serviced and replenished daily, really clean.Breakfast was good.
Special shout out to Francesca who managed reception and breakfast and was a super star. Strongly recommend.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FRAN Yeoman, General Manager at Franz Josef Oasis, responded to this review
Responded 27 Mar 2024
Thanks Estelle for the great review, Francesca is a wonderful host, so thanks for making special mention.
Thanks for the recommendation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $148
  • Hotels.com
3.4 km from Franz Josef Oasis
Free parking
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $570
  • Hotels.com
2.3 km from Franz Josef Oasis
Free Wifi
Free parking
Glacier View Villa
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $219
  • Hotels.com
1.1 km from Franz Josef Oasis
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$399
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Hotel
    $399
3.4 km from Franz Josef Oasis
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $139
  • Hotels.com
2.4 km from Franz Josef Oasis
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $243
  • Hotels.com
3.4 km from Franz Josef Oasis
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $217
  • Hotels.com
3.5 km from Franz Josef Oasis
Free Wifi
Free parking
Central Village Accommodation
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $139
  • Hotels.com
3.4 km from Franz Josef Oasis
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $84
  • Hotels.com
3.8 km from Franz Josef Oasis
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Franz Josef
Reviews (539)
Filter reviews
539 results
Traveller rating
351
128
41
10
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
351
128
41
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews continental breakfast spa bath new zealand main town big tv rooms are spacious no air conditioning beautiful room south island would stay again stayed longer fireplace motel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 539 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2024 via mobile

most dreary hotel I have ever stayed in, the rooms, the breakfast, everything is designed and made to yield as much as possible and cost as little as possible...it seems to be led by an etagère (who was friendly in itself) breakfast is strictly 1 hour between 8-9 am you can come and eat the simplest breakfast ever. if the room next to you uses hot water, you will have a cold shower. I think every hostel is better

Room tip: There is hanging a sign only open after 15:00 so be ware that you are not 10 minutes to urly the breakfast is strictly between 8 and 9
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Safari67326838132
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FRAN Yeoman, General Manager at Franz Josef Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2024

Hello Safari. Most of our guests love the complimentary continental buffet , so I'm sorry it wasn't what you were looking for. Your shower complaint is a mystery to us as we have never had a comment like this before. An early breakfast can be requested, in fact, we are open to all reasonable requests, although there is one thing we cannot change, and that is dreary weather....sometimes it shines, sometimes it doesn't.....bad weather really affects peoples moods, that is for sure.
Footnote: We would like to solve the mystery of the shower... we would appreciate knowing which room you stayed in, so that we can ask our plumber to check it. Could you please send a quick message on our website, that would be very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2024

This motel is about 3Km out of town, but that was not an issue. Everything was fine-huge bed, all required amenities were present and worked correctly, no issues with check in or out. It's on the highway but near zero traffic at night. The view of the mountains across the road is impressive.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank evets1232016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FRAN Yeoman, General Manager at Franz Josef Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2024

Thanks Evets for your great and positive review. We appreciate you taking the time .
regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2024

The room was super clean and cosy. We had a fairly big room with a decent view. All the amenities were provided and the bathroom even had a heated towel rack which was a bonus. It would have been great if there was a closet but there was a coat hangers.
Breakfast was very mediocre and we had the same thing on both days. There was plenty of it though. Also I sent a mail about staying an extra night which was not on the same booking as I had to make that subsequently. Unfortunately they said they didn't read their mails. This was not acceptable in my opinion. Town is a bit of a trek away but once you hare at the resort it was quite and tranquil.
Special mention should be made of Francesca who was super efficient at getting breakfast dishes cleared and replenished on her own. I would give her 5 stars for super service.

Room tip: If you are making any changes to the reservation call them ahead as they do not check their messages.
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Meneka G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FRAN Yeoman, General Manager at Franz Josef Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2024

Hi, thanks for the review. Ive responded to this review on a different platform, but in summary, we do vary the breakfast fruits etc from day to day, but keep the favourites that guests love. We definitely do read all our emails, we didn't receive your email request, so our manager said "we didn't read that email", a misunderstanding...however due to it being very busy we were unable to grant your request to stay in the same room as someone else had booked it. Thanks for giving Francesca a special mention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2024

This was a great place to spend a couple of nights. A couple of miles outside the town on the main road it had everything we needed for an enjoyable stay. Room was really big and bright with a very comfortable bed, a table with 2 chairs and a couple of comfortable armchairs next to a fireplace. There is also a laundry on site which guests can use for a small fee. The place was managed by Franziska who did a wonderful job of managing the reception area and also was responsible for providing breakfast for the guests. She was very friendly and professional and happy to help with any queries.

Room tip: Only 2 washing machines which appear to be in constant use from late afternoon through to the evening.
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MicheleFfrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FRAN Yeoman, General Manager at Franz Josef Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2024

Thanks for the review, Discover, we really love getting positive reviews, hope you had a great holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2023

Very quiet hotel with spectacular views of the night sky. The rooms were nice!

The hotel concierge was very polite and helpful! He even made us a map showing us some recommended hikes!

We really enjoyed our stay!

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FRAN Yeoman, General Manager at Franz Josef Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2024

Dear Jstine, thanks for the brilliant review.
So happy you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews