We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Ruth

Superb facility, great location, great value, huge room and bed and spa bath . Delighted.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Mar 2023via mobile
Such a beautiful room and convenient location with fabulous grounds and views. Huge room with huge comfy bed, windows and bathroom , everything felt very new. Great staff always available to help and chat. Didn’t try breakfast . If we had stayed longer than two nights would have missed a wardrobe, just a coat stand for all your clothes. But kettle and fridge and glasses etc , dining table and chairs, easy chairs, fire and big TV . Delighted
Date of stay: March 2023
Room Tip: Limited hanging space in room for clothes.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FRAN Yeoman, General Manager at Franz Josef Oasis, responded to this review
Responded 3 Apr 2024
Dear Ruthfussycat, what a lovely review, thank you so much for taking the time to write it. Much appreciated
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$243
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $243
3.1 km from Franz Josef Oasis
Free Wifi
Free parking
$364
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $361
  • Vio.com
    $324
  • Hotels.com
    $364
3.3 km from Franz Josef Oasis
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$128
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
3.4 km from Franz Josef Oasis
Free parking
Restaurant
$566
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $566
2.3 km from Franz Josef Oasis
Free Wifi
Free parking
Main entrance
$135
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $135
3.2 km from Franz Josef Oasis
Free Wifi
Free parking
$118
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $118
0.5 km from Franz Josef Oasis
Free Wifi
Free parking
$140
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $139
  • Hotels.com
    $123
  • Priceline
    $131
3.4 km from Franz Josef Oasis
Free Wifi
Free parking
beds
$120
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $107
  • Agoda.com
    $100
  • Expedia.com
    $108
3.7 km from Franz Josef Oasis
Free Wifi
Free parking
$165
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $165
  • Agoda.com
    $127
  • Priceline
    $137
3.5 km from Franz Josef Oasis
Free Wifi
Free parking
$85
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $85
  • Agoda.com
    $80
  • Vio.com
    $84
3.8 km from Franz Josef Oasis
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Franz Josef
Reviews (539)
Filter reviews
539 results
Traveller rating
351
128
41
10
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
351
128
41
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews continental breakfast spa bath new zealand main town big tv rooms are spacious no air conditioning beautiful room south island would stay again stayed longer fireplace motel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 539 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2023 via mobile

Very beautiful,,modernized and excellent resort right outside the main town,,you will get a good breakfast but will have to go to town for lunch and dinner and will also have to hire a cab for that to and fro. Rest rooms are excellent and views are to die for,,

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank narinderb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FRAN Yeoman, General Manager at Franz Josef Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2024

Hi Narinderb, thanks for the review. Most of the local restaurants have free courtesy pickup and drop off service.
There is also a shuttle service but no cabs. Great to hear that you enjoyed the rooms, bathrooms, and views.
Hope you can come back some day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2023

Nice enough hotel and glad we were lucky to have a view of the garden. Bit out of town and not really walkable. Breakfast was very basic and not much of it. All in all overpriced for what it was. Very clean though.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FRAN Yeoman, General Manager at Franz Josef Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2024

Hello, thanks for the review. Breakfast: is now a complimentary continental buffet. Thanks for saying that it was clean, Our team works hard so will appreciate your comment. Nice to know that you enjoyed your view of the garden.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2023 via mobile

Nice setting, however the location is too far out of town. No air conditioning, no fly screens on windows and no insect spray! So unable to sleep with window open to get any airflow due to heaps of mosquitoes. The room was stuffy and suffocating as a result. Due to these issues we think the room is very overpriced.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Adventurer455169
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FRAN Yeoman, General Manager at Franz Josef Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2024

Hi Adventurer, during very warm weather I would recommend a luxury room with air-conditioning, or open windows with no lights on, as sometimes midges are attracted to the lights. Luckily it gets dark very late in summer.
The location is a 5 k drive to the village, guests love the peaceful garden setting so most don't mind the 5 minute drive.
Thanks for staying with us.
Thanks for taking the time to place a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2023 via mobile

I hoped this would be a fantastic experience to stay there and I was not disappointed.
The rooms are spacious and well maintained, very good stocked bathrooms with everything you need. The view is fantastic, but this is the first place where to look at the Hotel was even better!
Be aware, there is only a small, but delicious continental breakfast available and you have to drive to the restaurants in town (5min by car) for dinner. But that was not an issue for us at all.

Room tip: Only continental breakfast in Hotel, no restaurant in-house but 3-5 min away by car.
Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank St80249
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 February 2023

Generally speaking we were happy with our stay at this motel. Our room was immaculately clean and overlooked the lovely garden out the back of the property. However for the price I would have been unhappy if we’d got one of the front rooms overlooking the car park. The bed was very comfortable, although it got quite warm at night and with no air conditioning. There are no screens on the windows and no screen door so letting fresh air in is problematic unless you don’t mind the bugs. There was an electric fan provided. The provisions in the room were minimal for a self proclaimed boutique hotel. No robes, extra towels or bowls, spoons etc to enable you to eat breakfast in your room. There is a continental breakfast in the restaurant for $22. The motel is about 5kms from town so no walking to dinner, but that didn’t bother us. It was pleasant, if overpriced, but I think New Zealand overall has become more expensive trying to make up for two years of being locked off from the world.

Room tip: Ask for a garden view room
Date of stay: January 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jennymY3972TY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews