We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travelocity
StayForLong
Destinia.com
CheapTickets
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (523)
Filter reviews
523 results
Traveller rating
343
125
39
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
343
125
39
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews continental breakfast comfortable bed spa bath drive into town new zealand main town free wifi lovely room modern motel comfortable stay one night stay yogurt fireplace glacier accommodation mountains township
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 523 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2020 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay but disappointed that we were not told restaurant closed as we booked intending to eat there. We enjoyed breakfast even though choice limited. A bit disappointed in the very small spa bath and the fire which was really just a noisy fan heater. However, the room was very clean and bed very comfortable

Date of stay: April 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank angusgott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2020 via mobile

A very nice modern motel style hotel with large rooms comfortable beds and good bathrooms. Very friendly and helpful staff. A little way out of town but local restaurants provide taxi services free. A real good find and highly recommended.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank K1086HKkenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2020 via mobile

We had one night here. The motel is out of town and a little further than we thought but it wasn’t an issue for us. Great staff and lovely room, large, clean and comfortable. We chose to eat dinner in the hotel rather than head back into town and though the menu is small had one of the best burgers ever sitting outside with great views. Breakfast is continental style with fruit and yoghurt etc. Nice quiet place to stay

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank H2331SYkarend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2020

Hotels located a little bit out of town but it’s spacious and clean, it’s a bit over rated and the pictures on the booking systems leave you disappointed when the reality hit’s home. Breakfast is OK but nothing to write home about.

Room tip: don't believe the photo's
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2020 via mobile

Very disappointed with this hotel. The price feels about double what it’s worth. Breakfast wasn’t included either so feels really poor value. It’s located a long distance from the Franz Josef village so walking is not possible and a car is needed. Maybe a 10 minute drive but not really walkable with the long single track vehicle bridges that would need to be crossed.

There seems minimal staff here as one person serves both the reception and the restaurant leading to delays.

Only one hand towel was provided for the two of us (plus two bath towels) and despite being promised a second towel it never materialised.

Our room wasn’t cleaned during our stay and we were told, with the shrug of a shoulder, it must have been overlooked. So no restocking of toiletries, teas, loo paper and no cleaning of coffee cups etc. Just unacceptable at the price we paid.

Our tv had a total of nine channels none of which seemed to be main stream channels and any useful ones simply said ‘scrambled’.

On the plus side there are two washing machines and one dryer in a side house at minimal charge which could be useful.

Overall disappointed with the value and the location so would look elsewhere if ever returning.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank 801ChrisJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews