We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$129
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$133/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Rainforest Retreat(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$59
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$91/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Franz Josef Montrose(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$46
US$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
10 Cottages(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$100/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$50
US$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
58 On Cron Motel(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$90/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$122
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$100/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (432)
Filter reviews
432 results
Traveller rating
288
100
34
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
288
100
34
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewselectric fireplacecomfortable bedcontinental breakfastsmall hotelspa bathnice fireplacerural settingfree wifinew zealandbig bathroomgreat bathroommain townfew minutes drivestayed for one nightmodern motelsouth islandcomfortable stay
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 432 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2018

The room booked and paid for was supposed to have a hot tub in the room, this was confirmed in the booking confirmation which detailed a hot tub and spa bath, it was not a hot tub just a bath with water jets!

All other guests had to walk past our room - if you are looking for privacy I suggest you close the curtains the entire time!

The manager/owner basically told us to go elsewhere he offered a refund and was not willing to sort out any issues, it was late at night and we had driven miles - we did go elsewhere! Terrible customer service.

Whatever the response the owner chooses to reply the fact remains the accommodation is a basic motel with restaurant, with rooms that are made out of tin, with facilities that do not exist.

Would not recommend this place.

Room Tip: the room are not correctly advertised and did not have hot tubs
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank _ljr2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alister Y, Owner at Franz Josef Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear ljr,
We advertise our spa baths as spa baths. The name of the room you booked includes the words spa bath. The pictures of the bath are available online during the booking process. We have searched thoroughly online and cannot find a reference to hot tub. If you can find this please let us know where it is and we will delete it. We apologise sincerely if there was a mistake or misunderstanding.
We offered to help you find another hotel but you refused our offer. We offered a full refund. We paid it immediately.
Our Hotel has a restaurant and a liquor licence. Our rooms are warm and quiet and modern. I wonder if you thought your room might be noisy as it was near to the car park?, however the rooms are modern, soundproofed, and double glazed and guests comment on how quiet they are.
Our Managers are very professional and give incredible service which is often commented upon. They are a real treasure to us.
We hope you had a great holiday
Regards
Oasis Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

We discovered this hotel by accident and it’s now our firm favourite when we travel along the West coast - it’s a gem! The rooms are stunning, luxurious, quiet and with magical views. The staff are excellent, incredibly welcoming and kind.
And breakfast, well... you’ll have to experience it yourselves. And all of this for a very reasonable price!

Room Tip: The views from the front rooms are stunning.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jeni9155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alister Y, Owner at Franz Josef Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Jeni
thanks for the beautiful review especially about our team!
We love to hear our guests enjoy their stays
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future
regards
Oasis Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

5 minutes from town, new quality rooms very clean and comfortable, good heating with a fantastic view and friendly and helpful staff. Would recommend to anyone. Bathroom is modern with heated towel racks and great fittings.
King bed was very comfortable

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alister Y, Owner at Franz Josef Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Michael,
thanks for taking the time to review our Hotel.
Our team love compliments ! and its always great to know you would recommend our accomodation.
Good to know you found the bed very comfortable.
regards
Oasis Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed here for one night. It was absolutely wonderful from start to finish. The welcome we got was excellent. The place was beautiful, peaceful and immaculate. The room was big and modern. Sparkling clean. Facilities were excellent. We felt like we were in paradise! The bed was so comfortable, my best sleep on this holiday so far! Amazing! This hotel deserves a 5 star. We paid a very modest price for this hotel. The location was perfect. I don’t have a bad word to say about this place. We thought it was brand new... that’s how clean and immaculately designed it was.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ZCashin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alister Y, Owner at Franz Josef Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear ZCashin
what an incredible review
thank you so much
We are really pleased you felt like you were in paradise.
Did you see our Paradise ducks?
(The female has a pure white head )
regards
Oasis Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights and was so comfortable and clean! I love a bath tub so was happy to sit and soak. Linen was cosy and of good quality and the fireplace was a great touch! Really nice place few miles out of town but quiet and well worth the money. Thankyou

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alister Y, Owner at Franz Josef Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks Kelly B
Nice to hear you enjoyed your stay.
We appreciate your review very much.
Hope the rest of your trip was great
Regards
Oasis Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews