We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Franz Josef Glacier
from US$362.46
More Info
from US$199.90
More Info
from US$128.51
More Info
from US$346.25
More Info
Reviews (3,583)
Filter reviews
3,583 results
Traveller rating
2,185
965
313
79
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,185
965
313
79
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car park viewing point global warming nice walk long walk helicopter ride easy walk return walk viewing area minute walk terminal face climate change new zealand south island once in a lifetime glacier hike
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 3,583 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2019

We had rainy weather and it was quite grey and a bit chilly, but it was still an enjoyable hike. It's pretty rare to be able to hike to a glacier so definitely make a visit here. The glacier is also receding which is unfortunate, but the trail takes you through some beautiful scenery. We were lucky to visit here just before there was a landslide that blocked the roads.

Date of experience: February 2019
2  Thank ykk87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2019 via mobile

40 years since I was last here. It is beautiful and it has changed a lot. I was awe inspired today as it was breathtaking and exhilarating. It's difficult to find the words but I was moved. It's definitely worth seeing.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank sunnycoast09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2019

We were lucky to have dry conditions and were able to complete the whole walk. Couple of areas were a bit steep and uneven. We are not really walkers, but we managed it, and were still smiling when we got back to the car park! :) Make sure you wear comfy shoes!!!!

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank nat789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2019

We did this track on a rainy day and despite the poor weather conditions, it was very nice to get to the first falls and then move on towards the glacier. DOC closed the last part of the trail because of the dangerous conditions associated with the heavy rain of the last few days, so we couldn't get as far as we could have. Such is life in the area of the New Zealand West Coast.

Date of experience: December 2019
1  Thank Dan_Explorateur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2019 via mobile

A good walk from the car park (or for us the cycle storage...) then a good walk of a couple of miles to the glacier - largely because it has receded so very much.
Quite busy but tremendous scenery - fortunately the rain held off!

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank BillB_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews