We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere, music could be better”

Monsoon Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 14 Restaurants in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Monsoon bar and restaurant will quite possibly be your favourite bar in NZ, with roaring fires & regular DJ's. We carry a large range of New Zealands finest beers and wines. The Monsoon restaurant will satisfy your hunger whatever your budget with all you can eat pizza nights, bar meals and a specially created ala carte menu specially designed by our head chef Ronald Lacanilao who has created a menu of mouth watering local delicacies to treat you after a hard day glacier exploring. Choose from over 40 different gin's, have a create your gonna experience Monsoon: it rains... we pour...
Reviewed 13 March 2016

Nice atmosphere in the bar and the staff is very friendly. The prices in the bar are normal. Between 7 en 9 pm there is happy hour where you can get beers and cocktails for 5 dollars.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank ISchouten1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (738)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

445 - 449 of 738 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2016

Food and service good . Prices were reasonable and waitress was very friendly would back again. Was very interesting place as they have a special for backpackers. Place was pack with them very young but well behaved

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank Harleyjim2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2016 via mobile

This buzzing place is part of a nice resort. The bar and restaurant serve good beers and nice food by very friendly wait staff. The open fire place gives you the 'Alps' feeling.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank diederikb1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2016 via mobile

Had a great night in the restaurant, would fully recommend it to others. Staff were very kind and the food and drinks were flowing. Perfect for our family.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank Helen28_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2016

We came in here for a drink after dinner on Halloween. We had a glacier walk at 8:15 the next morning and then a drive to Queenstown so we weren't really in the mood to stay out late and drink a lot. Everyone else was though (including many of the glacier guides) and it seemed like an amazingly lively place for such a small town. Not sure if that was just the day we happened to visit (a special event Saturday) or not.

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monsoon Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland Tai Poutini National Park
Franz Josef, Westland Tai Poutini National Park
 
Franz Josef, Westland Tai Poutini National Park
Franz Josef, Westland Tai Poutini National Park
 

Been to Monsoon Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.