We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The All-You-Can-Eat-Pizza Night Is A Winner!”

Monsoon Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 14 Restaurants in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Monsoon bar and restaurant will quite possibly be your favourite bar in NZ, with roaring fires & regular DJ's. We carry a large range of New Zealands finest beers and wines. The Monsoon restaurant will satisfy your hunger whatever your budget with all you can eat pizza nights, bar meals and a specially created ala carte menu specially designed by our head chef Ronald Lacanilao who has created a menu of mouth watering local delicacies to treat you after a hard day glacier exploring. Choose from over 40 different gin's, have a create your gonna experience Monsoon: it rains... we pour...
Reviewed 24 January 2016

The ticket price for this event is absolutely worth it, especially if you come with an empty stomach. You won't think you can fill it so easily, but as the pizza variety comes one after another, ushered in by garlic bread and tons of chips, you just may soon realize "all you can eat" isn't a whole lot after all. Before your tummy is filled to capacity and you completely give up, make a request and save some room for the pizza flavor you really want (the jalapeno pizza is fantastic!). Otherwise, they will keep serving the pineapple pizza or the all-meat pizza to your table for the rest of the night.
Ask, and you shall receive. (I only wish I had asked sooner...)

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank aluabyerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (738)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

454 - 458 of 738 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2016

Coming from Cape Cod, MA we know mussels and these were terrific. Went during happy hour, we weren't real hungry. A large bowel of green mussels in white wine sauce was perfect. Very crowded with bus tours. Our waitress was from Wales and extremely charming...all smiles and great service.

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nancy011351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2016 via mobile

Really nice to join and dig in with travellers on a budget for the all you can eat pizza buffet. The pizzas are really tasteful and varying in style and one drink is included.

Date of visit: January 2016
Thank Wiebe v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2016

The place was busy. Service was quick. The think crust vegetarian pizza was very good.
They have separate area for big groups. There is also some outdoor seating with views of the mountains.

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bhanu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2016 via mobile

We just stopped for a drink and were served by a very sociable Barman. The ambience was very pleasant and we think we might try eating here tomorrow.

Date of visit: January 2016
Thank KipperNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monsoon Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland Tai Poutini National Park
Franz Josef, Westland Tai Poutini National Park
 
Franz Josef, Westland Tai Poutini National Park
Franz Josef, Westland Tai Poutini National Park
 

Been to Monsoon Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.