We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
HeliServicesNZ Fox & Franz
Open today: 7:30 AM - 7:30 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience HeliServicesNZ Fox & Franz
from US$274.22
More Info
from US$210.36
More Info
from US$371.89
More Info
from US$274.22
More Info
Reviews (365)
Filter reviews
365 results
Traveller rating
328
21
8
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
328
21
8
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews snow landing grand tour mt cook these guys helicopter flight mt tasman awesome pilot highlight of our trip minute trip next morning short flight highly recommend this company fresh snow amazing flight awesome experience bad weather glacier country
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 365 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2018

This was an amazing trip, the best way to see Franz Josef and Fox Glaciers as the views were magnificent as were are photos. The pilot was very good explaining about the glaciers with some history. After the trip he recommended going on to Matheson Lake as you get to see the reflection of Mt Cook and Tasman in the lake. Wouldn't seen the lake otherwise.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Kerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelN5544, General Manager at HeliServicesNZ Fox & Franz, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2018

Thank you Kerry W for your great review. It certainly is the best way to see the glaciers (by air) and I am pleased you noted your pilot as very good about explaining about the glaciers and history. Our staff always recommend other attractions to visit while in the area and Lake Matheson is certainly no exception for those wonderful reflections of the Southern Alps including Mount Cook and Mount Tasman.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

This is a must do in Franz Josef! You will not be disappointed! We booked with another operator one month in advance but got cancelled because of bad weather. We were super lucky to get a slot with HeliServices! They were very professional and had very good service.
The pilot and copilot were very friendly and excellent photographers as well. We had a smooth snow landing in mountain at 4800m high. Super nice view of the glaciers and snow mountain and the pilots let us take our time to take photos!
Really perfect experience!

MUST GO. RECOMMENDED!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Gina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelN5544, General Manager at HeliServicesNZ Fox & Franz, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Thank you GinaSeh for your wonderful review. And thank you for pointing out the very professional and very good service.

It is always weather related of course and although your first booking was cancelled due to weather, I am pleased we were able to fit you into our schedule when the weather became better. And thank you so much for the MUST GO recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Having stayed at Franz Josef for a few days we booked the trip to do the Grand Tour. It was very cloudy and on the last day the flights were unfortunately cancelled due to poor visibility. On our last day at Franz Josef we were out of luck again but were offered a flight from Fox. And what spectacular flight it was!

There are a few service providers in the area and Fox Franz Heliservices is the cheapest but we had great service throughout. We were lucky to land on the Fox glacier and the whole experience was definitely one of the highlights of our NZ trip!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Ziga_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelN5544, General Manager at HeliServicesNZ Fox & Franz, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2018

Thank you Ziga_24, for a wonderful review. Yes, sometimes it can be cloudy and unflyable for one glacier yet clear and safe to fly over the other. Very pleased you experienced what we offer after a patient few days waiting for the weather. Thank you for recommending us and noting our "great service throughout" and your experience a definite highlight of your NZ trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

We were on our second-last day of our NZ family adventure and we managed to squeeze in a heli-flight and glacier landing at Franz Josef - what an amazing, awe-inspiring journey it was! Having walked to the glacier some 20 years ago and on our night before, the flight was a whole other experience. Our pilot was excellent and the views we had were absolutely breath-taking. It was also brilliant to have the opportunity to land and walk at the top of Franz Josef. Highly recommend!

Date of experience: September 2018
2  Thank Family3146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelN5544, General Manager at HeliServicesNZ Fox & Franz, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2018

Thank you Family3146, a great review. I am pleased you had the opportunity to land and walk at the top of the Franz Josef, and thank you for noting your pilot was excellent, along with the absolutely breath-taking views. A great memory rekindled after walking to the glacier some 20 years ago.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

Heli-ride-Land. One of the best things we have done ever as a family... it was some 20 years since our last visit. A big change in the distance to the glacier face. We hiked to the Glacier view point (45 one way) in a lot of rain late on the day before . We really wanted to take a flight but was closed due to weather. At the odd chance of availability (next morning) we were able to take an 9am trip and stand on the top of an amazing living glacier 20 min later. Memories and Photos for life..... thanks to all the team for accomodating us on the day and the safe return travel. MUST DO experience.

Thank tsunami-net
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelN5544, General Manager at HeliServicesNZ Fox & Franz, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2018

Thank you tsunami-net for a wonderful review. Fantastic you were able to stay and enjoy the break in the weather the following morning of your stay. "Memories and Photos for life" and i will pass on your thanks to the team. It is certainly a MUST DO experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews