We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
HeliServicesNZ Fox & Franz
Open today: 7:30 AM - 7:30 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience HeliServicesNZ Fox & Franz
from US$273.85
More Info
from US$210.08
More Info
from US$371.39
More Info
from US$273.85
More Info
Reviews (363)
Filter reviews
363 results
Traveller rating
326
21
8
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
326
21
8
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews snow landing grand tour mt cook these guys helicopter flight mt tasman awesome pilot highlight of our trip minute trip next morning short flight highly recommend this company amazing flight fresh snow awesome experience bad weather glacier country
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 363 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2018

We had a magnificent day for the flight, and as we had done a Heli hike years ago, decided to do the twin glacier and snow landing flight. Our pilot Bill provided an excellent commentary during the flight, and the scenery was absolutely stunning. We had a snow landing, and a chance to take some photo's. Bill took some for us, including one on his own camera, which was printed in the helicopter, and given to us in a nice folder. It was good value at $20! This trip was the highlight of our three weeks in the South Island. Bill is an excellent pilot, and made our trip special. It is an expensive 30 minutes or so, but worth every cent! If you are in the area, don't miss this! Suggest an early flight, as the cloud seems to move in in the afternoon.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank ppcp19792015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael N, General Manager at HeliServicesNZ Fox & Franz, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thank you ppcp19792015 for your review. Very pleased you enjoyed your flight with Bill and you enjoyed the stunning scenery. And fantastic we were the highlight of your 3 weeks in the South Island. Yes you are right, often the morning weather is better for a heli tour as the cloud can move in during the afternoon. We are pleased your trip was special.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

A perfect winters day up the glacier, The sky was clear blue and the snow was a fresh powder. Our pilot was Kieren, He was a very confident pilot which put all us passengers at ease so we could take in the beautiful scenery, and enjoy the helicopter ride.
Would highly recommend this trip to anyone seeking a spectacular New Zealand experience.
Feeling privileged that we had the opportunity to ride with such a great company.
Will be back!!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank rodgersva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael N, General Manager at HeliServicesNZ Fox & Franz, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thank you rodgersva for your great review, and thank you for feeling priviledged for having a ride with such a great company. That means a lot to us and than you for your recommendation "to anyone seeking a spectacular New Zealand experience" - we are priveledged to have had you onboard!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

One of the highlights of our trip to NZ was our helicopter flight over the twin glaciers and our snow landing on top of the glacier. We felt in very capable hands with pilot Dion and the photo opportunity is second to none. It was worth every dollar.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Emeralda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael N, General Manager at HeliServicesNZ Fox & Franz, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thank you Emeralda for your kind review. We are so pleased it was the highlight of your trip to New Zealand. We are also pleased you felt you were in very capable hands with Dion, it is a priority we make our passengers feels comfortable and safe when flying with HeliServices.NZ Fox & Franz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

We spent one night in Franz Josef last week and thought that it would be more practical and less expensive to see the Franz Josef glacier, by foot. We did some research on Trip Advisor and it soon became apparent to us that walking to it wouldn’t be as good as flying over it. Our motel suggested Fox and Franz Josef Heliservices and rang them on our behalf to see if they had any seats available. Luck was on our side as well as the weather and there were seats available on a morning flight. From the moment we arrived, we were greeted by the friendly staff. Firstly Brad P was so friendly and helpful ensuring we understood the safety requirements and also helped us on and off the helicopter. Bill, our pilot, made us feel at ease immediately and provided lots of information during the flight, about the glacier. Being able to land on the top and take the most amazing photos was a highlight. If your tossing up whether to do the walk or the flight, don’t think too long and do the flight! It was the most amazing experience that my husband and I have had the privilege to do. To see the most spectacular view so close up was a privilege we will never forget. Thanks to the team, we would highly recommend, absolute value for money. Jo and Wayne, Australia.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Jo-AnneD09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael N, General Manager at HeliServicesNZ Fox & Franz, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thank you Jo-AnneD09, a wonderful review. We are wrapped you chose HeliServices.NZ Fox & Franz for your heli flight. Great you felt at ease with Bill and thank you for noting our staff as friendly and helpful, it is very important to us our customers feel at ease and enjoy what we have to offer. I have passed on your thanks to our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

The big disadvantage with this is the high chance of clouds. We sat around for over a day but the clouds would not lift. Our trip didn’t happen. Good luck to everyone else.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank bjoernc2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael N, General Manager at HeliServicesNZ Fox & Franz, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thank you Bjoern C for your review. We are dependant on the weather conditions for safety and value for money and when the cloud is low and there is a lot of cloud we do not depart. We hope you did enjoy your visit to Franz Josef and hope you were able to do some of the other local activities and enjoy some of the magnificent cafes and restaurants during your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews