We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
HeliServicesNZ Fox & Franz
Open today: 7:30 AM - 7:30 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience HeliServicesNZ Fox & Franz
from US$273.88
More Info
from US$210.10
More Info
from US$371.43
More Info
from US$273.88
More Info
Reviews (370)
Filter reviews
370 results
Traveller rating
333
21
8
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
333
21
8
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews snow landing grand tour mt cook these guys helicopter flight mt tasman awesome pilot highlight of our trip minute trip next morning short flight highly recommend this company fresh snow amazing flight awesome experience bad weather glacier country
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 370 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2018

We spent one night in Franz Josef last week and thought that it would be more practical and less expensive to see the Franz Josef glacier, by foot. We did some research on Trip Advisor and it soon became apparent to us that walking to it wouldn’t be as good as flying over it. Our motel suggested Fox and Franz Josef Heliservices and rang them on our behalf to see if they had any seats available. Luck was on our side as well as the weather and there were seats available on a morning flight. From the moment we arrived, we were greeted by the friendly staff. Firstly Brad P was so friendly and helpful ensuring we understood the safety requirements and also helped us on and off the helicopter. Bill, our pilot, made us feel at ease immediately and provided lots of information during the flight, about the glacier. Being able to land on the top and take the most amazing photos was a highlight. If your tossing up whether to do the walk or the flight, don’t think too long and do the flight! It was the most amazing experience that my husband and I have had the privilege to do. To see the most spectacular view so close up was a privilege we will never forget. Thanks to the team, we would highly recommend, absolute value for money. Jo and Wayne, Australia.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Jo-AnneD09
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael N, General Manager at HeliServicesNZ Fox & Franz, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thank you Jo-AnneD09, a wonderful review. We are wrapped you chose HeliServices.NZ Fox & Franz for your heli flight. Great you felt at ease with Bill and thank you for noting our staff as friendly and helpful, it is very important to us our customers feel at ease and enjoy what we have to offer. I have passed on your thanks to our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

The big disadvantage with this is the high chance of clouds. We sat around for over a day but the clouds would not lift. Our trip didn’t happen. Good luck to everyone else.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank bjoernc2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael N, General Manager at HeliServicesNZ Fox & Franz, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thank you Bjoern C for your review. We are dependant on the weather conditions for safety and value for money and when the cloud is low and there is a lot of cloud we do not depart. We hope you did enjoy your visit to Franz Josef and hope you were able to do some of the other local activities and enjoy some of the magnificent cafes and restaurants during your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

We chose to do the Flight 4- Grand Tour and so glad we did.
From the moment we checked in we were met by friendly staff. As we were the first flight of the morning, they explained that changes in weather conditions would determine our flight time. Luckily for us we had perfect blue skies, minimal wind and crisp snow. Our pilot was informative and ensured all on board had a birdseye view of the sights. Landing on the glacier was unreal. I couldn’t stop taking photos as it was incredible. A special bucket List moment. Highly recommend this company for their professionalism and customer service.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Karen19092014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael N, General Manager at HeliServicesNZ Fox & Franz, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Thank you so much Karen19092014 for your wonderful review. I am very pleased the weather was perfect for your flight and thank you for complimenting our professionalism and customer service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

WOW !! What a Fantastic flight ! We were unable to get up with another company and went to Scenic and they were Brilliant and managed to get us on a flight . The flight itself was UNBELIEVABLE . Our pilot was great and gave us an awesome flight and a brilliant view of this beautiful area . The glaciers were amazing and the snow landing was brilliant !! If you only do one thing in NZ this is the one to do and without a doubt , this is the company to do it with !! Great value for money . You won't be disappointed!! Thanks so much for one of the great experiences of my life !!

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank neonleon68
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael N, General Manager at HeliServicesNZ Fox & Franz, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2018

Thank you LeonNeon68/Shayne for your wonderful review. We are so pleased you were able to take your flight with us. So many positives in your review it’s really fantastic. We are so pleased you had one of the great experiences of your life with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

Me and my wife drove all the way to franz Josef purely for this helicopter ride and snow landing, and it was totally worth every penny! The view and scenery was totally worth it! ALTHOUGH sometimes they require a minimum number of people to fly even if you have already booked the tour, so we were glad that someonelse joined in the last minute so we were able to fly. I recommend checking that with them before you confirm.

1  Thank 83ashraff
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael N, General Manager at HeliServicesNZ Fox & Franz, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thank you Ashraf F for your kind review. Yes minimum numbers are required and we work hard to ensure this does not delay any departures. We often have many people booking with us and find meeting minimum numbers very successful (we just need a minimum of two or three people depending on the tour - we do not have to have a full helicopter which really helps!

Thank you for your comment "the view and scenery was totally worth it!" which is always great to hear.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews