We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Glacier View Motel(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
10 Cottages(Franz Josef)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$106/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Rainforest Retreat(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$87/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Franz Josef Oasis(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$132
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
58 On Cron Motel(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Franz Josef Montrose(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
US$66
US$60
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
314 results
Traveller rating
186
84
25
11
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
84
25
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom chaletfull kitchenminute drivein townnew zealandtwo nightsone night staya great staylong drivequiet locationcomfortable staysouth islandjagaccommodationglacierunitsmountains
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 314 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2018

We Stayed at the Alpine Retreat in 2017. Sorry for the late review. Such a beautiful place. We chose the 2 bedroom chalet as we were 2 couples. Very clean and warm place. Added bonus was the free breakfast and WiFi. We defiantly love this place.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank jesintha r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranzAlpine, Front Office Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Thank you for your response. It is nice to receive a good review no matter how late it is. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

Stu, the owner, was very helpful and accommodating. It was almost like staying with family. Accommodation was comfy in a 2 bedroom cottage. Kitchen was fully equipped and we made good use of it. Lounge and dining area gave extra room to really relax. A beer on the little deck watching the sunset and the stars come out was enjoyable. Yes, this place is about 5 mins drive out of town but it was quieter and the starry skies all the better for it. Lots of local places in town offer transport if you want a drink with dinner so take advantage!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank vladok212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranzAlpine, Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2018

Many thanks for your lovely review, Vlado. It was a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us. Emma especially enjoyed the company of your children. It certainly is a beautiful place to view local scenery and the stars. We hope you have a safe and enjoyable journey for the rest of your New Zealand trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

We arrived after approximately a 6 hour drive to find the retreat a little out of town. (This was booked by a Travel agent) Chalet’s looked good. Were greeted with an ecoli warning. Think we should then have been offered the option to receive a refund. Because of the size of the rooms, the heating was not sufficient. When we went to bed, we found that one control of the electric blanket had wires showing so were worried about using it. You could feel the springs pushing through the mattress which led to a very uncomfortable sleep that night. We were booked for 2 nights but left after one. Didn’t ask for a refund but just could not take another bad nights sleep.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranzAlpine, Front Office Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Hi Paul,
We are a little disappointed you did not inform us of the bedding situation as you gave us another reason for departing early. This has now been attended by replacing.
We hope your trip north was enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018

Stayed with my family in these units twice in one year, really enjoyed it. The laundry cost was expensive but they breakfast packages every morning are amazing. Thank you. :-) Warm, comfy couches, about 5-10min drive outside of town.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Lizzie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranzAlpine, Front Office Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Many thanks for your 'awesome' review. You must come and stay with us again, maybe twice next year. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

We spent 3 nights in a two bedrooms bungalow quite new, spacious and comfortable but not very private.
The staff was welcoming and had to face a huge storm that let us without power, telephone and ...news. They did not spare their efforts to inform about the situation and the possibility to leave town (all the roads were closed....).

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maryse K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranzAlpine, Front Office Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Unfortunately the West Coast can be struck down by bad weather without notice. We do our best to keep up to date with weather and road closure information. If you were unable to leave town we would have assisted you by making accommodation available as we have done in the past. We are pleased you found your Chalet comfortable. Safe travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews