We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (382)
Filter reviews
382 results
Traveller rating
197
144
32
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
197
144
32
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location warm scones glow worms restaurant next door the main road butter and jam king studio wildlife centre comfortable place middle of town good size electric fireplace within walking distance local attractions stayed for two nights small place helicopter flight
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 382 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2019

Stayed in a one bedroom apartment. Quality furnishings and spacious. Good TV and internet reception. Bed was firm but quite comfortable and provided a restful nights sleep.
A nice touch was the visit by an employee late afternoon, delivering some complimentary home made scones. I have never experienced that before.
Very close to a delightful hillside walk up ( glow worms at night ) to an old gold mining era tunnel which I am sure would have been interesting, but as it was all uphill, I did not manage to reach it.
There were clear views of Franz Joseph Glacier in the distance, from just outside the room, which was rather nice.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Owner at The Terrace Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2019

Hi Alan

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and our location.

We hope you are able to come back and visit us again, when you do please book directly on our website for our cheapest prices. Just to Clarify the Glacier you were looking at was the Croz Glacier.

Regards

Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2019

My husband and I stayed here for only one night as part of a south island circuit tour. It is a typical style motel with the convenience of being within walking distance of the small township, with a cosy restaurant right next door. There are different styles of rooms available, from apartment style with kitchenettes to basic studio style rooms. We chose a King Studio and it was perfectly adequate, with a large king bed + a single bed and a small (very) kitchen area with kettle & toaster. There is good heating and the bathroom was spotlessly clean. Whilst the room is on the basic side, it was clean, cosy and perfectly adequate for our needs with a friendly welcome by staff.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oz-Amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Owner at The Terrace Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2019

Hi Amanda

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the bathroom "spotlessly clean". You stayed in our entry level room, should wish to come back we also have larger rooms with bigger facilities and kitchens etc. If you are coming back our best rates are only available on our own direct booking website.

We hope the rest of your holiday went well.

Regards

Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2019

We stayed only one night while travelling around the south island. It was peak season & tourists everywhere. Our room was very spacious having a seperate room from the lounge. The bathroom was also very big. It also has a kitchen table & kitchen. The restaurant/bar next door was great. Easy walking to the main street & hot pools. Easy parking. Also a laundry on site.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jaffajames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Owner at The Terrace Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2019

Hi James

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and found your room "very spacious".

We hope you are able to come back and stay with us again, when you do, please book directly on our website for our lowest price.

Safe travel back to Auckland.

Regards

Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2019

This motel has cute, small bungalow type rooms. The bed was hard and because it was raining the TV and internet went on and off. The front office check in was awesome and the woman was so sweet and showed us to our room and later brought us hot scones and butter! They really go out of there way to help in anyway possible. Great location as you can walk to all restaurants and only a short drive to the trail to Franz Josef glacier. Even though beds were so-so I would still there again for a night

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gne4thewkend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Owner at The Terrace Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2019

Hi

I am happy to hear you largely enjoyed your stay and sorry you had issues with the bed, all our beds were recently changed but its hard to get the softness level to suit everyone. Could you please email us with the room you stayed in and I will double check everything is correct.

Its great to hear you would stay with us again, when you do, please book directly on our website for our lowest prices.

Regards

Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2019 via mobile

A really lovely and small town Franz Josef and this motel is just at walking distance from all the thrills,the town has to offer,helicopter rides are just at 2mins walk.The cottages are well equiped with fully functional kitchenette,microwave,dishes,cutlery,a cosy bedroom and additional living room with bed and dining.The only trouble we found that the room went too cold in night,the heater provided cudnt serve the purpose.Terrace motel was just like home away from home,super clean,well maintained,quaint and cosy.You can park ur car right in front of your room.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MahaswetaD6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Owner at The Terrace Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2019

Hi

Thank you for your review, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. The heaters all have adjustments on the sides to turn them up, I am sorry and surprised it was not hot enough, it could be the thermostat needed turned up. We have plenty of extra heaters should you come back and need one at reception.

We hope the rest of your holiday goes well and you are able to visit us again in the future, when you do, please book direct on our website for our lowest prices.

Regards

Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews