We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, room and host”
Review of The Terrace Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Terrace Motel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2015

Stayed here two nights and wished we had stayed longer. Great location, close to several good restaurants (The Alice May and Landing are both great) which the owner gave us a discount voucher for. The Glow worms are also very close and well worth a visit, the owner explained how to find them and the kids really liked them.

Our room was large with plenty of space, very clean and a standard motel kitchen - the covered car park was a great bonus (not all rooms have covered car parks).

We will definitely stay again when next in Franz Josef

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

152 - 156 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2015 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at The Terrace, Franz Josef Glacier. The room was recently refurbished and was great. Modern decor with a huge bathroom. All that we needed was provided. Free wifi was great. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Good place to stay and value for money.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Leanne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2015 via mobile

Leaving Queenstown for a 4.5 hours drive towards Fox Glacier and Franz Josef Glacier. If you've time, stop by Arrowntown on the way out of Queenstown. We stopped at Fox Glacier to walk into the glacier viewing area. Can't see much of the glacier (frozen lake from hundreds of years ago that remains frozen though it has retreated) from the ground. It seems a helicopter ride is the best way to view the glacier. Fox Glacier town is really small so we were glad we booked to stay in Franz Josef Glacier which was a 15-20mins drive away. As we used booking.com, we didn't have a lot of choices for Franz Josef but I saw that NZ'S own Scenic and Heartland hotel chains are here. Terrace Motel was not too bad. We had a 2 bedroom apartment - a sofa, dining table & fully equipped kitchenette in the living/dining, 1 room with a queen bed and 2nd bedroom with 2 single beds & 1 bathroom for about NZD200 a night. It's small but clean with towels provided. We used our own toiletries instead of the all-in-one soap dispenser in the shower. Car can be parked right at the back entrance, very convenient especially in the cold. Best of all, there's free unlimited wifi access. No laundry facilities in-room though. The area is mainly lodges and motels but they're neat and clean.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank m00lah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2015

In comparison to the other motels we stayed at during our visit to NZ, the Terrace Motel was distinctly average. Clean room. However, good value compared to other motels in this expensive tourist resort.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2015 via mobile

Logan was so helpful! Our glacier tour was canceled due to weather and he helped set up another tour! Place was very clean and comfortable:) big rooms as well and great shower pressure! Enjoyed our stay, especially for the price. Again, Logan checked in and made sure things were ok- thought that was a very nice gesture and explained the small area very well. Made our decisions on what to do very easy!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Bern114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.2 km away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,402 reviews
0.4 km away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,217 reviews
0.1 km away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
378 reviews
0.2 km away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.2 km away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Terrace Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Terrace Motel

Address: 15 Cowan Street, Box 44, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Price Range: $145 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Terrace Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Terrace is the closest Motel to the centre of Franz Josef Village, yet on a quiet side street. The 4 star Terrace Motel offers views of snow capped mountains and the Croz Glacier from its grounds. Unlimited Free Wi-Fi and free on-site parking are included. The Terrace offer Hotel style rooms along with rooms with cooking facilities, next to reception is a quiet restaurant operated by two of Franz Josef most experienced restauranteurs. The Terrace is the closest Motel to Franz Josef's free Glow Worm Caves and Franz Josef Kiwi Bird Centre where guests can experience New Zealand's national bird up close. The Terrace offers spacious ground floor accommodation with electric blankets and electric heating, flat-screen Televisions, tea/coffee making facilities and all en suite bathrooms, some feature a Spa Bath. Guests have a choice of studio's or spacious 1 and 2 bedroom apartments. Most rooms features stove tops and microwaves along with a dining area (please note Hotel style rooms offer tea / coffee and breakfast making facilities only). All rooms are serviced daily. Guests have access to shared laundry and barbecue facilities with outside tables and chairs. The tour desk can organise a range of activities including discounted helicopter flights, hikes, kayaking, horse treks and glacier walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Terrace Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing