We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (354)
Filter reviews
354 results
Traveller rating
179
138
31
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
179
138
31
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location glow worms the main road restaurant next door hot scones king studio franz joseph middle of town local attractions good size small place stayed two nights large bathroom living area walking distance electric blankets the kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
202 - 207 of 354 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2015 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in a studio. The room was clean, well presented and spacious, allowing plenty of room to dry wet hiking/walking gear. The cooking facilities were good and the bathroom was ample. The proprietors were also very generous, both with an evening offering of warm scones and refunding the cost of one night's accommodation (at short notice) when we had to cut our trip short on the final night as one of us fell ill. We will definitely be back next time we are in Franz!

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank ChloeandEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2015

We stayed in a studio with kitchen and mountain view (room 17) It occupied a corner position with a very spacious room, seating area and kitchen. It was clean and freshly decorated. Located 100 yards behind the main street it was ideal for the shops, restaurants and getting to the helicopter offices for the flight that kept on getting postponed due to low cloud. An excellent restaurant Alice May is located next door. We like to eat early so it was a nice surprise after we returned that at about quarter to 8 when the owner came round and knocked on the door with freshly baked warm scones with butter and jam. Nice touch and lovely scones. I recommend that you fill up with fuel in Fox at $2.04.9 per litre rather than in Franz Joseph at $2.23.9.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2015

The Terrace Motel has a set of ten 'cottages' attached to it. Don't expect roses round the door and a thatched roof - these are Kiwi cotages: clean functional comfy and good value. Just around the corner from the motel (check in at the motel reception), park outside your cottage and you are well placed to visit the local glaciers and beach (at Okarito). The cottages have all you need the room is large with a large bed and small kitchen area. There's a dining area and a patio. The bathroom is fine. Five minutes walk from shops and restaurants and (reputedly) an area where its possible to see glow worms. FJ glacier is five minutes drive (some people walk) and 20 from the Fox glacier. All you need for a comfortable stay in FJ. Spoiler alert - be prepared for sandflies!

Room Tip: All ten cottages are of the same high quality, #1 has specific facilities for the disabled
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BathfanOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2015

The room was quite comfortable and functional with a kitchenette. Unfortunately it rained for the whole time we were there so we were unable to enjoy the view from our room. The owners were helpful and we had a really lovely meal in the restaurant next door with a discount on the price fro staying in the motel.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lesley0906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2015

We have the Executive Apartment complete with its own small kitchen, spa bath, WI FI, 2 x television and as stated in the title, "Comfortable, roomy and convenient". The Terrace is close to the town and its facilities such as restaurants, bars and supermarket.

Room Tip: Executive apartment for space and convenience.
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Barney53727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews