We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, excellent location, friendly staff”
Review of The Terrace Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Terrace Motel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2015 via mobile

Only spent a night in Franz Josef but glad I booked The Terrace Motel. Clean, spacious and modern room. Sadly weather did not cooperate and allow me to enjoy the glacier but the motel is steps away from the rowi kiwis at the West Coast Wildlife Centre and quality dining and shopping in the small town. Staff was very friendly and helpful as well. Highly recommended!

Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
Thank heydurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

171 - 175 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2015 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in a studio. The room was clean, well presented and spacious, allowing plenty of room to dry wet hiking/walking gear. The cooking facilities were good and the bathroom was ample. The proprietors were also very generous, both with an evening offering of warm scones and refunding the cost of one night's accommodation (at short notice) when we had to cut our trip short on the final night as one of us fell ill. We will definitely be back next time we are in Franz!

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank ChloeandEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2015

We stayed in a studio with kitchen and mountain view (room 17) It occupied a corner position with a very spacious room, seating area and kitchen. It was clean and freshly decorated. Located 100 yards behind the main street it was ideal for the shops, restaurants and getting to the helicopter offices for the flight that kept on getting postponed due to low cloud. An excellent restaurant Alice May is located next door. We like to eat early so it was a nice surprise after we returned that at about quarter to 8 when the owner came round and knocked on the door with freshly baked warm scones with butter and jam. Nice touch and lovely scones. I recommend that you fill up with fuel in Fox at $2.04.9 per litre rather than in Franz Joseph at $2.23.9.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2015

The Terrace Motel has a set of ten 'cottages' attached to it. Don't expect roses round the door and a thatched roof - these are Kiwi cotages: clean functional comfy and good value. Just around the corner from the motel (check in at the motel reception), park outside your cottage and you are well placed to visit the local glaciers and beach (at Okarito). The cottages have all you need the room is large with a large bed and small kitchen area. There's a dining area and a patio. The bathroom is fine. Five minutes walk from shops and restaurants and (reputedly) an area where its possible to see glow worms. FJ glacier is five minutes drive (some people walk) and 20 from the Fox glacier. All you need for a comfortable stay in FJ. Spoiler alert - be prepared for sandflies!

Room Tip: All ten cottages are of the same high quality, #1 has specific facilities for the disabled
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BathfanOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2015

The room was quite comfortable and functional with a kitchenette. Unfortunately it rained for the whole time we were there so we were unable to enjoy the view from our room. The owners were helpful and we had a really lovely meal in the restaurant next door with a discount on the price fro staying in the motel.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lesley0906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.2 km away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,402 reviews
0.4 km away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,217 reviews
0.1 km away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
378 reviews
0.2 km away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.2 km away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Terrace Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Terrace Motel

Address: 15 Cowan Street, Box 44, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Price Range: $145 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Terrace Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Terrace is the closest Motel to the centre of Franz Josef Village, yet on a quiet side street. The 4 star Terrace Motel offers views of snow capped mountains and the Croz Glacier from its grounds. Unlimited Free Wi-Fi and free on-site parking are included. The Terrace offer Hotel style rooms along with rooms with cooking facilities, next to reception is a quiet restaurant operated by two of Franz Josef most experienced restauranteurs. The Terrace is the closest Motel to Franz Josef's free Glow Worm Caves and Franz Josef Kiwi Bird Centre where guests can experience New Zealand's national bird up close. The Terrace offers spacious ground floor accommodation with electric blankets and electric heating, flat-screen Televisions, tea/coffee making facilities and all en suite bathrooms, some feature a Spa Bath. Guests have a choice of studio's or spacious 1 and 2 bedroom apartments. Most rooms features stove tops and microwaves along with a dining area (please note Hotel style rooms offer tea / coffee and breakfast making facilities only). All rooms are serviced daily. Guests have access to shared laundry and barbecue facilities with outside tables and chairs. The tour desk can organise a range of activities including discounted helicopter flights, hikes, kayaking, horse treks and glacier walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Terrace Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing