We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$80
View deal
Free cancellation until 23/06/21
Priceline
US$78
View deal
Free cancellation until 24/06/21
Agoda.com
US$68
View deal
Free cancellation until 23/06/21
eDreamsUS$80
Trip.com
Lol.travel
View all 7 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (335)
Filter reviews
335 results
Traveller rating
159
133
34
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
159
133
34
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice cottage hot scones brought round glow worms butter and jam walking distance to restaurants great shower two nights quiet location comfortable stay enjoyed our stay self contained franz joseph double bed views of the mountains hot pools night stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 335 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2020 via mobile

We spent one night at 10 cottages and enjoyed our stay. The rate was very reasonable and the room was clean, tidy and modern.
The service was fine and the location is walking distance to the town centre (only two blocks away).
The only downfall is that the cottages are very close together, apart from that it was a lovely place to stay

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank tworookietravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom Skinner, Owner at 10 Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2021

Hi

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, customer feedback is very important to us. I was delighted that you found the cottages tidy, modern and clean - my team pride themselves on attention to detail and I will be delighted to pass on your positive feedback. I hope you can come back and visit us again soon, when you do please book directly on our website for our lowest prices.
I do hope that the rest of your visit goes well, and once again thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback.

Regards,

Gaki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2020

Great place to stay - would recommend. It was lovely and clean and warm. We were upgraded free of charge from a Motel booking i made. Would recommend to any travellers who are wanting an overnighter or longer stays.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank annasor68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom Skinner, Owner at 10 Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2020


Hi

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope you can stay with us again in the future, when you do, please book directly on our website for our lowest rates.

Best regards,
Allan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2020

Booked a cottage for my partner and I - stayed in cottage number 1. Staff saw us when we checked in otherwise we didn’t hear from them (this was perfect for us though). Room was cleaned during the day while we were out
Nice shower, bathroom and amenities within the room. Although I’d say need to upgrade the tvs as they suck next to no channels would be fine if you can stream Netflix from your phone to the tv? Just an upgrade. Also maybe new table/chairs and duvet covers or something- didn’t take any photos as room was like not dressed well? Old brown covers & like weird circle velvet chairs?

All and all just what we needed for our stay something cheap n cosey BUT needs an upgrade.

Would stay again :)

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LissyC05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom Skinner, Owner at 10 Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2020

Hi Lissy

Thanks for the feedback and happy to hear you enjoyed the shower. Unfortunately fibre internet has not yet been rolled out to Franz Josef, once it does we are looking to upgrade all tvs to smart tvs. I am sorry some parts of the style of the room was not too your liking.

We hope you can stay with us again in the future, when you do please book on our own website for our lowest prices.

We hope the rest of your trip went well.

Regards

Logan


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2020 via mobile

Stayed one night whilst travelling South Island in November 2019. Comfortable, clean and warm cottage. Needed the heating to dry off as we had walked to Franz Joseph in the afternoon and got soaked through! The next morning was superb and the view of the mountain tops from the cottage was beautiful!

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Cornish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom Skinner, Owner at 10 Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2020

Hi Cornish

It’s great to hear you enjoyed the view of the mountain and found the cottage clean and warm. Hopefully you can come back and visit the South Island again soon, when you do, please book directly on our website for our lowest prices.

Regards

Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2020

We stayed here for 2 nights and whilst we did get a little confused looking for the reception it’s in a great location with car parking about 2meters outside the room.
The beds were super comfy especially after a 7hr road trip, great shower and nice little kitchenette.
Unfortunately I can’t comment on the views as the cloud cover was very low however can confirm there are mountains that do exist there somewhere.
It’s in a very peaceful spot.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Brownowl87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom Skinner, Owner at 10 Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2020

Hi

Thanks for taking the time to write a review.

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed our central and quiet location along with your room. Hopefully you can come back and stay with us one day and enjoy the view of the mountains, when you do, please book directly on our website for our lowest prices.

We hope the rest of your holiday went well.

Regards

Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews