We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little cottage in Franz Josef”
Review of 10 Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
10 Cottages
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2017

Stopped in here without a booking. The staff were very easy to talk to and immediately offered us a cottage at a great rate. The cottages were clean and modern. Quiet location. Easy walk to the main street. I would book again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fattymcnair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Owner at 10 Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Hi

Thank you for your review, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Regards

Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2017

We stay at the cottage (2 bedrooms 1 bathroom 1 kitchen 1 living room) Very spacious room. Kitchen is awesome. Super short walk to city center restaurants (recommend King Tiger Restaurant for Asian cuisine)

Tip: Don't forget to look for a lamb and a cat at the lobby

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank misspattrapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Owner at 10 Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Hi

It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay, we hope the rest of your holiday went well.

Hopefully you can come back and stay with again in the future - when you do please book on our own website for the lowest prices.

Regards

Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Good location (but the city is very small), not on the main street and thus avoids the noise. Has kitchen utensils and microwave. In my room the shower had only a curtain, so the entire bathroom got wet after using it.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Eduardo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Owner at 10 Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Hi Ediardo

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our central location. You stayed in our wheel chair accessible room - most cottages have glass showers - I will have a look at the direction of the shower head in your shower.

I hope you are able to stay with us again, when you do please book direct on our website for the lowest price.

Regards

Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

We enjoyed our stay at 10 cottages. The room was comfortable with a convenient small kitchen. All very clean. It was in easy walking distance of multiple restaurants and to the office to book a helicopter flight to the glacier.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Beverly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Owner at 10 Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Hi Beverly

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope you got one of our helicopter discount vouchers along with a discount voucher for the restaurant.
Hopefully you are able to come back this way in the future - when you do please book directly on our website for the cheapest prices.

Regards

Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

Very spacious rooms that have only recently been renovated. Great comfy bed and good little kitchenette. Heated floor tiles and heated towel rack were awesome. Easy 5 minute walk to town. There is a laundry which is very handy. Plus free unlimited WiFi.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank BrettBega_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Owner at 10 Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Hi Brett

Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Hopefully you can stay with us again, when you do please book on our website for the cheapest prices.

I hope the rest of your holiday went well.

Regards

Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.2 km away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,427 reviews
0.3 km away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,250 reviews
3.5 km away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
326 reviews
0.2 km away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.3 km away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 10 Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 10 Cottages

Address: 8 Graham Place, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Price Range: $109 - $429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 10 Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backing onto peaceful greenery, 10 Cottages offers self-contained Cottages with individual balconies. Located just 2 minutes walk from the centre of Franz Josef Village and 3 minutes walk to the Glacier Hot Pools, 10 Cottages is the ideal stop for a holiday in Franz Josef. Guests can enjoy Unlimited Free WiFi and free off-street parking. The 10 Cottages offers views from snow capped mountains and the Croz Glacier from most rooms and its grounds. All rooms contain a kitchenette with microwave and breakfast making facilities, flat-screen-televisions with satellite channels, hairdryer, electric heating and blankets. There is an onsite launderette and the nearest restaurant is within 100 metres. The tour desk can organise a range of activities including discounted helicopter flights, hikes, kayaking, horse treks and glacier walks. The 10 Cottages has also arranged discounts for guests with some restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your 10 Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing